Article Databases and Research Tools

  • Full text electronic access to encyclopedias, handbooks, and biographical works in all academic subjects. Individual titles are searchable, though the collection is not cross-searchable.
    Full Description
  • "Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature" indexes monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published worldwide from 1920 onwards with links to the full text of 61 journals.
    Full Description
    Chadwyck
    Covers: 1920-present.
  • Database of articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
    Full Description
    Ebsco
    Coverage: 1990 - current
  • Full-text access to newspapers at the local, state, regional, national and international levels.  From Newsbank.
    Full Description Coverage: Varies
    California newspapers search
  • Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (9th ed.) with content from annual yearbooks, McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and Science News.
    Full Description
  • An electronic library of Associated Press (AP) photos and pictures from 1850+ with most images made since 1995. Also includes the International Photo Archive and a Euro/Asian Photo Archive. Images and selective newspapers articles are royalty free for educational use by UCSC faculty, staff, and students only.
    Full Description Covers: Primarily 1995-present
  • Database of complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the sixty-eight volume publication by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. Contains documents examining the lives of saints, organized according to each saint's feast day.
    Full Description Covers: Volumes published 1643-1940.
  • Database covering all aspects of Africa dating back to the 16th century from 40 different worldwide databases. Includes African HealthLine, South African Studies and African Studies.
    Full Description
    Ebsco
    Coverage varies: 16th century-current.
  • Full-text of african american 19th century newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder,
    Full Description Coverage varies, 1827 - 1902.
  • Database of 3,000 poems by African American poets of the 18th and 19th centuries.
    Full Description
    Chadwyck
    Covers: 1750-1900.
  • Electronic database of approximately 50,000 digital music tracks by African Americans. In order to play sound files, Mac and Windows computers need Macromedia Flash Player. In addition, Windows computer users need Microsoft Windows Media Player.
    Full Description
    Alexander Street Press
  • Citations and abstracts for articles on all aspects of agriculture.
    Full Description Covers: 1979 - present
  • Searchable database of text of early American newspapers. Articles and pages can be viewed as images in a Web browser, or downloaded as pdf documents. Part of the Archive of Americana collection from Newsbank/Readex.
    Full Description Covers: 1690-1876.
  • Searchable database of select news magazines including Money and U.S. News and World Report.
    Full Description Coverage varies, some titles are searchable back to 1993.
  • Historical coverage of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Contains citations and abstracts for articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.
    Full Description
    Ebsco
    Covers: Articles written 1964 - present.
  • Established 1899, is the major organization of professional astronomers in North America.
    Full Description
  • Searchable database containing the full text of over 40 journals from the ACS.
    Full Description Coverage varies. Most journal subscriptions begin 1996-2000.
  • This searchable database contains the full text of approximately 32,000 pages of letters, diaries and memoirs. Over 460 authors are represented, including politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and spies. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also.
    Full Description Includes materials written between 1855 and 1875.
  • Full-text searchable, browsable collection of over 700 plays.
    Full Description Covers: 1714-1911.
  • Searchable full-text of journals from the AMS.
    Full Description
  • This searchable database contains information on more than American 17,400 men and women. Each entry contains a bibliography for further research and some have photos.
    Full Description
  • This searchable database includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from 1741 to 1900. From Proquest.
    Full Description Covers: 1741-1900
  • Searchable, browseable collection of over 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets.
    Full Description
    Chadwyck
    Covers: 1600-1900.
  • Searchable database of online music recordings that will contain 50,000 tracks from America's past. The database will include songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
    Full Description
    Alexander Street Press
  • Primary source material comprised of over 6,000 documents of U.S congressional materials from 1789 through 1838.
    Full Description Covers: 1789-1838
  • This database contains citations to articles written in all branches of anthropology. The index is based on the journal holdings of the Anthropology Library at the British Museum.
    Full Description Covers articles written 1957 - current.
  • Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
    Full Description Coverage is from the late 19th century to present.
  • Searchable database of journal articles published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA)
    Full Description Covers: 2003-current. For selected journals, coverage begins as early as 1880.
  • Covers aquatic science, aquatic organisms, fisheries, oceanography, ocean technology policy and non-living resources, and aquatic pollution and environmental quality. Includes citations and abstracts.
    Full Description
    CSA
    Covers: 1971 - present
  • Collectively search "Early American Imprints: Series 1 1639-1800" (Evans), "Early American Imprints: Series 2 1801-1819" (Shaw-Shoemaker), "Early American Newspapers 1690-1876", "American State Papers 1789-1838", and the "US Congressional Serials Set 1817-1980". Publisher is Newsbank.
    Full Description Coverage varies, 1639-1980.
  • Articles, citations, and abstracts from art periodicals published world-wide.    
    Full Description Covers: 1984 forward; selected full-text 1997 forward.
  • Articles listed in Art Index volumes 1-32. Also known as Art Index Retrospective. Covers: Advertising, archaeology, architecture, art history, crafts, design, folk art, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, photography, television, textiles, and more
    Full Description Covers: 1929-1984.
  • Abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
    Full Description
    CSA
    Covers: late 19th century - present
  • Database of over 2,600 French language texts from the American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language
    Full Description Covers: 13th century - present
  • The Article First database from Firstsearch/OCLC provides citations from the table of contents pages of journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
    Full Description Covers: 1990-present.
  • Contains citations to 1,100 arts and humanities journals.
    Full Description Covers: 1975 - present
  • This Web of Knowledge database contains citations to 1,100 arts and humanities journals. Search by subject, author, and journal title. Cited Reference Search finds articles that cite an author or article specified by the searcher.
    Full Description Covers: 1975 - present
  • ARTstor is a digital library of over one million images from many time periods and cultures in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
    Full Description
  • Open access to 546,172 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
    Full Description
  • Chinese full-text database for hundreds of works in history (including history of Taiwan), classics, religion, medicine, literature, and law, etc. Chinese input software required to search.
    Full Description
  • Full-text searchable and browsable database of plays written by Asian American authors. Contains character and bibliographic information for each play, plus production details for selected plays.
    Full Description
    Chadwyck
    Covers: 1891 - current.
  • Searchable database contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1947.
    Full Description
  • For 25 years, the ADC was a key center for published astronomy data, catalogs, and journal tables. The ADC made these data sets computer readable and developed new methods, tools, and techniques for their preparation and use.
    Full Description
  • An international nonprofit scientific and educational organization founded in 1889 that works to increase the understanding and appreciation of astronomy.
    Full Description
  • ADS contains abstracts and citations for materials in astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, Los Alamos preprints, and many archives.
    Full Description
  • Database of journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. Subjects include church history, theology, the Bible, and world religions.
    Full Description Covers: 1949 - present.
  • From the U.S. Public Health Service's Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry. Provides data on health effects and hazardous substances, chemicals, and compounds.
    Full Description
  • Citations to articles on the following topics: architecture, architectural design, city planning, furniture and decoration, interior design, historic preservation, history of architecture, and urban planning.
    Full Description Covers: 1977 - present.
  • "Advancing species identification and discovery through the analysis of short standardized gene regions." The Barcode of Life Data Systems (BOLD) is an online workbench that aids collection, management, analysis, and use of DNA barcodes.
    Full Description
  • 20 different versions of the English Bible from the 10th to 20th century.
    Full Description
    Chadwyck