Research Tools and Databases in Music

Citations and abstracts for articles in peer-reviewed and other music periodicals. Subject Coverage: Music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.

Coverage varies; Some titles begin mid-1990s; Some, early 1900s.

Database of citations, abstracts and some full-text for articles in peer-reviewed journals and other performing arts periodicals.  Subject Coverage: Dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, opera, performance art, entertainment industry, and more.

Covers articles published 1979 - 2000.

Citations from 640+ international music periodicals. Includes classical and popular music topics, book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.

Music Index

Read the full encyclopedia entries for the following resources: Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford History of Western Music (Taruskin), The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and The Oxford Companion to Music.

 

Covers: 1969 - present

Citations and abstracts of articles on historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments, voice, dance, music therapy.

RILM Abstracts of Music Lit

Database contains citations to articles written in the 19th century. Subjects include music history and musicology.

RIPM
1962 to present

Primary-source material for the study of popular music, featuring full text of 20,000+ articles from nearly 50 years of American and British popular-music journalism, spanning popular, niche, and industry publications; includes audio section of over 300 interviews with music personalities