Database of complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the sixty-eight volume publication by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. Contains documents examining the lives of saints, organized according to each saint's feast day.
Database of 3,000 poems by African American poets of the 18th and 19th centuries.
Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa.
A wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by our partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides are organized into three collections: African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes, African Plants, and Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa.
This searchable database contains the full text of approximately 32,000 pages of letters, diaries and memoirs. Over 460 authors are represented, including politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and spies. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also.
full text of more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth, reflecting American dramatic writing in all its richness and diversity: plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues and a range of other genres are represented.
Searchable, browseable collection of over 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets.
Database of over 2,600 French language texts from the American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language
Full-text searchable and browsable database of plays written by Asian American authors. Contains character and bibliographic information for each play, plus production details for selected plays.
20 different versions of the English Bible from the 10th to 20th century.
Full-text searchable and browsable database of plays written by African, Caribbean, and African American authors. Contains character and bibliographic information for each play, plus production details and images for selected plays.
Full-text collection Canadian poetry from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth.
Part of the America's Historical Newspapers collection, Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876, is a fully searchable collection of over 130 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from twenty-two Caribbean islands. Most newspapers were published in the English language, but a number of Danish-, French-, and Spanish-language titles are included—essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.
NOTE: Select 'Eras in the History of the Caribbean' on the search page.
Citations to working papers, conference proceedings, books, and journal articles in the area of international affairs. Many resources are full-text.
Full-text of more than 700 first editions of American novels and short stories from 1789–1875.
Full text, digital images of every book printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland, and every book in the English language printed abroad, from 1475 to 1700.
Full text by key writers of more than 200 works from the period 1500-1700
Eleven major editions from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6, twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works and more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Digitally scanned full-text of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with important works from the Americas.
Full-text of 96 works in English prose by writers from the British Isles. Includes scanned versions of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, Richardson's Clarissa and Pamela, and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels.
Digitized original documents relating to Empire Studies from 1492 - 2007. Images of the texts without transcriptions. Includes thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies.
Full-text searchable, browsable database of 4000 plays by 1200 authors.
The complete English poetic canon from the 8th century through the 19th. Full-text of over 160,000 poems by more than 1250 poets.
Database of working papers, pre-publication scholarship, and electronic texts by faculty in UC research units, centers, and academic departments.
Primary source material comprised of thousands of images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
Contains the full text of the nineteenth century magazine. The publication was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America. In addition to extensive fashion descriptions and plates, the early issues included biographical sketches, articles about handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene for ladies, recipes & remedies, etc.
Full-text and scanned images of complete Classics Collection of Ancient China from ancient China to Qing Dynasty. In Chinese. Covers astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economics, art, education, agriculture, medicine, and more.
Full-text of British Parlimentary Papers, 19th Century.
Database of uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued humanistic manuscripts from the Middle Ages through the Renaissance (400-1700).
Full-text of prose, poetry, essays, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. In Spanish and Portuguese.
Full-text library of poetry, prose, drama, literary reference texts, and author biographies.
Full-text of plays by Native American playwrights.
Full-text of plays by women playwrights.
Database of full-text of women's diaries and correspondence.
An electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. Comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
Database of plays, no full text. Provides full publication details needed to locate the play in the Cruzcat and Melvyl catalogs. Searchable by title, author, subject, style, genre, and cast type.
"largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet"
Full text database of poems, critical essays, and biographical information for 47women poets of Scotland.
Chinese database in the study of Chinese cultural history. Note: Requires Internet Explore 5+ and Windows XP.
Database of over 10,000 poems from 70 poets of the twentieth century.
Database of over 52,000 poems from 300 poets of the twentieth century.
Searchable text of mainly twentieth century plays by authors from Britain, Ireland, and Australia, chiefly from the period of 1890 to 1920. Includes supplementary matter such as dramatis personae and relevant illustrations.
Database of over 280 poets and 598 volumes of poems from the twentieth century.
A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.