Includes terms used in computing, mathematics, operational research, and probability, as well as biographical information on over 200 key figures in the field, and coverage of statistical journals and societies
Limited simultaneous users. Try again later if refused.
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (9th ed.) with content from annual yearbooks, McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and Science News.
Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa.
A wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by our partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides are organized into three collections: African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes, African Plants, and Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa.
This searchable database contains information on more than American 17,400 men and women. Each entry contains a bibliography for further research and some have photos.
The Biography Resource Center (BioRC) is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 320,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, images, and video. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index.
The Blackwell Companion to Phonology is a major reference work drawing together 124 new contributions from leading scholars in the field. Led by a team of renowned international scholars, the Companion represents a diverse range of approaches and methodologies to key phenomena in phonological research.
"...provides an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the religions of the world and to the concepts, movements, people, and events that have shaped them; 3,500 detailed entries, 30 in-depth articles documenting the attitudes and ideals of major religions, as well as many other key religious topics."
Dictionary-style entries for over 350,000 chemical names, over 58,000 of which are enhanced with chemical structures.
Searchable reference source which includes the following: Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs (Formerly Pharmasource) Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, Polymers: A Property Database, and Properties of Organic Compounds.
Encyclopedia of geographical places and features. Includes: demography; physical geography; political boundaries; points of interest; transportation lines; longitude, latitude, and elevations; pronunciations; official local government place-names and changed or variant names and spellings.
CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher is written by seasoned journalists and provides comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Reports include introductory overviews, topic backgrounds and chronologies, an assessment of the current situation, pro-con debates, tables and maps, and bibliographies of key sources.
Searchable, browsable, full-text reports of issues currently under debate before the Senate and House of Representatives. Includes status of bills, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and roll-call votes. Also known as "Congressional Quarterly Weekly."
Provides broad coverage of physical science data used by scientists, engineers and students.
Oxford University Press, 1999, c2002, edited by Ailsa Allaby and Michael Allaby. Oxford reference online. Limited simultaneous user access. Try again later if refused.
A database of approximately 100,000 organic substances, and includes chemical and physical data together with key literature references. Available online, part of ChemNetBase.
A database of over 150,000 organic substances, and includes chemical and physical data together with key literature references. Available online as part of the ChemNetBase.
Full-text access to most University of California dissertations filed since 1996 and citations for those filed prior to 1996.
Full-text of country profiles provide analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, social, and business environment about more than 180 countries. Note: Library subscription includes Country Reports, Country Commerce, and Country Finance.
eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
2nd Ed. (2007). Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
Full text of over 2,750 articles with links to the primary literature. Frequently updated with new material.
The searchable version of Wiley's 6-volume reference work which covers all aspects and fields of environmental microbiology from aquatic microbiology to biofilms and biodegradation and environmental biotechnology, to public health and water treatment microbiology.
See also the print version in the S&E Library Reference section: QR100.B58 2002
basic aspects of social life from the most individual (self and identity) to the
most global (transnational economics and politics).
This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive resource on the essence, complexity, diversity and importance of the inland waters (lakes, ponds, rivers, streams and wetlands) of the Earth. Generous Gift of donors to the Buy-A-Book Program.
Comprehensive coverage of Islam and of Muslim minorities all over the world, historical through present day. Online version of the entire print text of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII). Includes 2nd and 3rd editions, plus Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān and Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures.
This is a good place to get oriented to biology topics that are new to you, or to get an overview of a multidisciplinary subject.
IN PRINT ONLY: S&E Library Reference QL713.2 .E63 2009
New articles have been added to the second edition to cover new developments in marine mammal science, such as those related to climate change and the interface of ecology and conservation, as well as those established topics not fully explored in the first edition. The text has been further improved by reorganization and by the division and fusion of articles for which the material has either grown or was previously split among several diverse articles.
Information and ready-to-use facts from the fields of measurement and statistics. Specifically designed to appeal to beginning and intermediate-level students, practitioners, researchers, and consumers of information.
Editor in chief, John H. Steele, Karl K. Turekian, and Steve A. Thorpe
Amsterdam : Elsevier ScienceDirect, c2008
Edited by Vivien Gornitz
Dordrecht, Netherlands : Springer, c2009
substantive articles by talented scholars exploring the full spectrum of philosophical topics
University and professional level compendium of chemistry, physics, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering.
includes the full text of the second print edition, the entire original edition, plus supplements and updates all rolled into one fully searchable site.
Includes local histories, official documents of the Ming and Qing Dynasties as well as Nan-Ming; covers information from the Tang Dynasty to the Japanese occupation period. In Chinese.
Macintosh users: Best viewed via the Safari browser.
The Encyclopedia of the Qu'ran includes a dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on themes and subjects within qur'anic studies.
Essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present.
Describes works printed in England from 1473-1800, searchable.
The complete text of over 149 engineering handbooks from CRC Press, many of which contain substantial tables of data. Each chapter is a pdf file and is full-text searchable. Sample titles include: Handbook of Formulas and Tables for Signal Processing. Mac users: Best viewed using the Safari browser.
Searchable database of handbooks and texts in environmental sciences.
Presenting the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts. (Bimonthly. 450 abstracts/year)
The bibliography includes more than 25,000 citations spanning 75 years of SIL International's language research in over 2,700 languages. The site also provides computer resources including an extensive library for language researchers.
Online full-text version of the Europa World Year Book and the Regional Surveys of the World series. Covers political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
Searchable database of handbooks in forensics and criminal investigation.
Online version of the Contemporary Authors Cumulative Index to the print Gale literary series.
Complete full text of database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Search across a dozens of encyclopedias and reference works covering a wide range of subjects.
Comprehensive music research of all the world's peoples. Contains the full text of the 10-volume print encyclopedia. Each volume covers a geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include photographs of musicians, musical instruments, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Also includes drawings, maps, and musical examples.
Reference resource on leadership issues specific to women and gender. It covers historical and contemporary barriers to women's leadership and issues of gender bias and discrimination, but also places a strong focus on positive aspects and opportunities for leadership in various domains.
An online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more. GREENR is a Gale / Cengage Learning product.
Full-text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians 2nd edition. Contains: biographies of composers, performers, and writers; articles on styles, terms, and genres of music; information about regions, countries, and cities; articles on instruments and their performance practice; articles on popular music and jazz; information on musical concepts and notation.
Presents the important theories, methodologies, and practices in feminist family studies.
Reference handbooks on various branches of economics, providing a survey of the current issues by leading specialists in the field.
Searchable database of handbooks in information and computer security.
Location: McH REF PN1997.8 I58
A useful resource for American Studies students.
The Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia features over 27,000 pages and 800 articles on chemistry and related fields; this 27-volume encyclopedia includes: CAS registry numbers, over 5,000 photos, charts, graphs, figures and tables, in-depth up to-date information on regulations, patents and licensing.
Searchable and browsable full text database of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States. Also includes audio files of selected poems and plays.
Location: McH REF PN1993.3.M34
McH REF PN1993.45.M3;
McH REF PN1993.45.M32;
McH REF PN1993.45.M34 1985;
McH REF PN1995.75.M33 1982
Full text of handbooks in mathematics and mathematical analysis.
Ebrary electronic version by Sybil P. Parker 2003. McGraw-Hill publisher.
An encyclopedia of chemicals and drugs. Good place to look for chemical and property information. Note: this resource needs the ChemDraw plugin in order to work. You will be asked to create a free account in order to download this free plugin the first time you use the resource.
*NOTE: The Merck Index Online will be transitioning from the 14th (current) edition to the 15th edition. Access to the 14th edition will end on December 31, 2013.
There will be an overlap period beginning immediately and continuing through December 31, 2013. As of January 1, 2014, the 15th edition will be the only version of this resource available.
Included in the MLA International Bibliography (1926-current) database.
Full text of reference books in the areas of neurology and psychiatry.
Note: Mac users should use the Safari Web browser for best results.
" an authoritative replacement for the highly successful Handbook
of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical Tables,
published in 1964 by the National Bureau of Standards (M. Abramowitz
and I. A. Stegun, editors);"
North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies. Each year we'll add more than 20,000 new records. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.
Over 10,000 full-text articles from key reference resources on African American and African history and culture. Includes over 2500 images, more than 450 primary sources with specially written commentaries, nearly 200 maps, and more than 150 charts and tables offering information on everything from demographics, government, and politics, to business and labor, education, and the arts.
Full-text of Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Biographies of the men and women who shaped Britain's history, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.
Searchable full-text contains the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. Also searchable on the library site as oed.
Oxford Handbooks series are available online as a collection in four subject modules -- Business & Management, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.
Read the full encyclopedia entries for the following resources: Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford History of Western Music (Taruskin), The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Full-text database of over 200+ dictionaries, language reference works (including thesauruses), and encyclopedias in all subject areas published by Oxford University Press
Focus on women concerns of women and theory and practice of feminism around the world. Currently has Volume 1, "Ability to Education: globalization "
Searchable online encyclopedias and handbooks in the social sciences from SAGE Publications -- Encyclopedia of African American Education, Encyclopedia of Perception, Encyclopedia of Case Study Research, Encyclopedia of Drug Policy, 21st Century Political Science: A Reference Handbook ...
Full text of reference books on statistics and probability. Organized into categories including biostatistics, statistics for psychology, social science and law, statistical theories and methods, and statistics for biological sciences.
Covers women's status starting approximately in the year 2000 and going forward. Includes information relevant to: arts and media; business and economics; criminal justice; education; family studies; health; media; military; politics; science and technology; sports; religion; and women in different cultures and countries
"An assembly of 249 distinguished philosophers have contributed to The Oxford Companion to Philosophy to create the most authoritative and engaging philosophical reference work in English. It gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day. The second edition has been considerably revised and updated, and includes 300 new articles on current topics, such as animal consciousness, cloning, corporate responsibility, the family, globalization, and terrorism."
A comprehensive, integrated summary of the present state of geochemistry. It deals with all the major subjects in the field, ranging from the chemistry of the solar system to environmental geochemistry.
Deals with the present state of geophysics. Chapters include: Seismology and Structure of the Earth, Mineral Physics, Geodesy, Earthquake Seismology, Geomagnetism, rustal and Lithosphere Dynamics, Mantle Dynamics, Core Dynamics, Evolution of the Earth and Planets and Moons.
Includes information on the management of water resources, the science of hydrology, aquatic chemistry and microbiology and water quality engineering.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a reference work encompassing all the disciplines and current practice of industrial chemistry and chemical engineering around the world. Its 1000 major articles by 3,000 leaders from research and industrial organizations are well-illustrated with charts and figures and extensive bibliographies.
Title and publishing information for nearly 250,0000 consumer and trade magazines, academic and scholarly journals, monographic series, newsletters, newspapers, electronic publications, conference proceedings, and 'zines.
Searchable full text dictionary. Includes etymologies and author quotations.
"the web's most extensive mathematics resource ... a free resource from Wolfram Research."
Information about women from all fields of study and disciplines.
This searchable full-text reference source contains short, ready-reference type of information on a large variety of subjects.
Directory of US and international higher education organizations. Profiles academic institutions, staff and officials at universities and colleges, research institutes, museums and art galleries, learned societies, libraries and archives.