Apabi Digital Resources consists of ebooks, reference works, and yearbooks, select the area you wish to search from their homepage. It includes more than 5,000 titles of e-books on a variety of subjects, including literature, art, history, politics, language, etc.; more than 90 titles in 700 volumes of statistic yearbooks on economics and social conditions; and more than 700 titles of reference works on all subjects. New titles are being added continuously on an annual basis.
The CSD records bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic information for small organic molecules and metal-organic compounds.
WebCSD has a built-in editor for structure/similarity searching, plus JMol and AstexViewer. Because this is a Java application, it may run slow at the beginning of your session. If you continue to have problems with Web CSD running too slowly, please refer to the FAQ page for possible solutions.
WebCSD is not a complete substitute for the locally installed version of the database that UCSC researchers can download from the CSD page at UCLA. Power users should consider downloading and installing CSD on their own computers.
CDS maintains several databases: SIMBAD, for astronomical objects outside the solar system, VizieR, for catalogs of objects, and the Aladin sky atlas.
Dictionary-style entries for over 350,000 chemical names, over 58,000 of which are enhanced with chemical structures.
Find chemical and physical property data, spectra, etc. Search by chemical species or related data.
Searchable reference source which includes the following: Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs (Formerly Pharmasource) Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, Polymers: A Property Database, and Properties of Organic Compounds.
A bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure and pathway) information.
The complete text of over 149 engineering handbooks from CRC Press, many of which contain substantial tables of data. Each chapter is a pdf file and is full-text searchable. Sample titles include: Handbook of Formulas and Tables for Signal Processing. Mac users: Best viewed using the Safari browser.
This website provides access to several EPA databases to provide you with information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States. With Envirofacts, you can learn more about these environmental activities in your area or you can generate maps of environmental information.
Collection of current and historical financial and economic data covering more than 200 countries extending back to 1265 depending on data series. Includes Eurostat and WorldBank data, and aggregate stock market performance. Does NOT include Real Estate or the U.S. or UK Stock Market Database (currently listed stocks back to 1990).
The High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC) is the primary archive for NASA missions dealing with extremely energetic phenomena, from black holes to the Big Bang. Having recently merged with the Legacy Archive for Microwave Background Data Analysis (LAMBDA), it includes data obtained by NASA's high-energy astronomy missions from the extreme ultraviolet through gamma-ray bands, along with missions that study the relic cosmic microwave background.
Data on all aspects of American history from Colonial times - present. Divided into five sections: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations.
Archive of detailed data sets in the social sciences. Covers: sociology, political science, criminology, history, education, demography, gerontology, international relations, public health, economics, and psychology. Some data files may require specialized software such as STATA, SPSS, SAS, etc., which are not provided by the library.
Consists of national and international economic databases from: Eurostat, OECD, IMF, UNIDO, Citicorp, Deutsche Bundesbank, Statistisches Bundesamt, and the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW).
LandScan presents global population distribution data available and represents an ambient population (average over 24 hours). Uses spatial data and imagery analysis technologies and a multi-variable dasymetric modeling approach to disaggregate census counts within an administrative boundary. Models are tailored to match the data conditions and geographical nature of each individual country and region
NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED) is a database of extragalactic objects. It includes detailed photometry, position, redshift, and other data, as well as bibliographic references, abstracts of the literature, calculation tools, and images.
The NTP is an interagency program whose mission is to evaluate agents of public health concern by developing and applying tools of modern toxicology and molecular biology.
Simultaneously search multiple life sciences databases at the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), including PubMed and GenBank. The results list the number of records in each database that match your query, and provides links to those records. The Global Query search page also acts as a short Entrez database directory since each database is briefly described (select the question mark icon next to each database).
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) online library of books, reports and robust data. Topics include social services, migration, economic outlook, taxes, health, education, environment, and many subjects for both OECD and non-OECD countries (formerly known as SourceOECD Statistics).
(Note: online version of American Public Opinion Index). Compilation of 14,000+ surveys and polls conducted in the U.S. and 80+ other countries from 1986 to the present. Each record includes question, responses given, and sources.
Citations and abstracts for peer-reviewed journal articles, books, chapters and essays, dissertations, and more. Select a subject area or search across all subjects. Formerly on the CSA Illumina platform.
Online source for California and U.S. public policy issues with an emphasis on statistics. RAND California's statistics include the following main categories: Business and Economics, Health and Socioeconomic, Population and Demographics, Government Finance, Education, Census, Community, Politics and Public Opinion.
Reaxys is the web-based successor to the Crossfire Beilstein/Gmelin system, and provides access to organic, inorganic and organometallic chemical structures, reactions, and properties contained in the Beilstein and Gmelin databases plus selective journal and patent literature.
Reaxys is a key tool for researchers who are investigating synthesis methods for chemical compounds, characterizing synthesized compounds, or searching for critically evaluated data on physical, chemical, spectral, bioactivity, or toxicological properties.
This is a reference work of "the most reliable and effective synthetic methods from the chemical literature": 26,000 methods with more than 250,000 reactions for 2,700 different types of organic compounds. Accompanied by reaction schemes, examples and experimental procedures. The Electronic Backfile, also included, provides access to product specific experimental procedures, structures, and references dating back to the early 1800s.
Select Maps or Tables to get started. Provides interactive access to current and historical census data and demographic information with and ability to create custom reports and maps. Create an account with your UCSC email to save maps and projects.
Includes entire US census history from 1790 to 2010, the American Community Survey (ACS) from 2005 to 2011, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010 (the most complete census available on religion in the US), InfoGroup data on religious congregations in the US for 2009 and 2010, and carbon emissions data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.
About 10,000 compounds' spectra, searchable by name, CAS RN, molecular formula, etc.
A statistics portal that integrates data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources into charts and graphs that can be reused without licensing restrictions. Categorized into 21 market sectors, provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other markets.
Additionally, Statista includes 60 industry reports (from mechanical engineering and healthcare to telecommunications) presenting not only numerical data on areas such as trends in turnover or revenue, but also on identified strengths and weaknesses. Statista’s industry reports are updated annually.
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Coverage: 1790 to present
A database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana. Includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community. Also provides extensive linkouts from our data pages to other Arabidopsis resources.
The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) is a publicly available EPA database that contains information on toxic chemical releases and waste management activities reported annually by certain industries as well as federal facilities.
In-Library use only. Access requires login by library staff at McHenry library. Inquire at Reference desk.
Access current and cumulative U.S. export and import data (trade statistics) for over 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities.
Annual data from 1992. Monthly data from 2002 (port-level data is only available from 2003 - present)
This method will work as long as the SpringerMaterials search engine remains freely available.
Access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. Topics include: Real-Time; Site Information; Surface Water; Ground Water; and Water Quality (includes temperature, specific conductance, pH, nutrients, pesticides, and volatile organic compounds). Current and historical data.
World development indicators (WDI) is the World Bank's annual compilation of data about development. Provides direct access to development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2001.