Article Databases and Research Tools

  • 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

    The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library.
  • 19th Century U.S Newspapers

    Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
  • A Dictionary of Statistics: Oxford

    Includes terms used in computing, mathematics, operational research, and probability, as well as biographical information on over 200 key figures in the field, and coverage of statistical journals and societies Limited simultaneous users. Try again later if refused.
  • ABC-CLIO eBooks

    Full text electronic access to encyclopedias, handbooks, and biographical works in all academic subjects. Individual titles are searchable, though the collection is not cross-searchable.
  • ABELL

    "Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature" indexes monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published worldwide from 1920 onwards with links to the full text of 61 journals.
    Chadwyck
    Covers: 1920-present.
  • Abstracts in Anthropology

    Provides comprehensive abstracting coverage of international anthropological literature. Focus is on the fields of archaeology, physical anthropology, linguistics, and cultural anthropology. Entries are fully indexed by author and subject and a twice-annual volume provides cumulative indexing.
  • Academic Search Complete

    Database of articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
    Ebsco
    Coverage: 1990 - current
  • Academic Search Complete Tutorial

    This interactive tutorial guides the user through search strategies, databases features, and basics of identifying peer-reviewed and relevant research. The tutorial also includes a final quiz and the ability to print a Certificate of Completion. The tutorial takes approximately 30 minutes to complete.  
  • Access World News

    Full-text access to newspapers at the local, state, regional, national and international levels.  From Newsbank.
    Coverage: Varies
  • AccessScience

    Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (9th ed.) with content from annual yearbooks, McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and Science News.
  • Acta Sanctorum

    Database of complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the sixty-eight volume publication by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. Contains documents examining the lives of saints, organized according to each saint's feast day.
    Covers: Volumes published 1643-1940.
  • Africa-Wide Information

    Database covering all aspects of Africa dating back to the 16th century from 40 different worldwide databases. Includes African HealthLine, South African Studies and African Studies. Formerly: Africa-Wide NiPAD
    Ebsco
    Coverage varies: 16th century-current.
  • African American Music

    Note: Content from African American Music is now a part of American Song. Included are songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
    Alexander Street Press
  • African American Newspapers: The 19th Century

    Full-text of african american 19th century newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder,
    Coverage varies, 1827 - 1902.
  • African American Poetry 1750-1900

    Database of 3,000 poems by African American poets of the 18th and 19th centuries.
    Chadwyck
    Covers: 1750-1900.
  • African Newspapers

    Full-text, primary-source archive of historical African newspapers. Includes over 60 newspapers published between 1800 and 1924 in Ghana, Kenya, Mozambique, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, and other countries across sub-Saharan Africa. Part of the Readex World Newspaper Archive.
    1800-1924
  • African Writers Series

    Full-text works, published in Heinemann's African Writers Series, of prose fiction and non-fiction, poetry, and drama by writers across sub-Saharan Africa, 1946-2003. 
    Chadwyck
    1946-2003
  • Agricola

    Citations and abstracts for articles on all aspects of agriculture.  *Note: For general public access go to http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/
    Covers: 1979 - present
  • Aluka

    Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa.  A wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by our partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides are organized into three collections: African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes, African Plants, and Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa.
  • America's Historical Newspapers

    Searchable database of text of early American newspapers. Articles and pages can be viewed as images in a Web browser, or downloaded as pdf documents. Part of the Archive of Americana collection from Newsbank/Readex.
    Covers: 1690-1876.
  • America's News Magazines from Newsbank

    Searchable database of select news magazines including Money and U.S. News and World Report.
    Coverage varies, some titles are searchable back to 1993.
  • America: History and Life (AHL)

    Historical coverage of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Contains citations and abstracts for articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.
    Ebsco
    Covers: Articles written 1964 - present.
  • American Astronomical Society (AAS)

    Established 1899, is the major organization of professional astronomers in North America.
  • American Civil War: Letters and Diaries

    This searchable database contains the full text of approximately 32,000 pages of letters, diaries and memoirs. Over 460 authors are represented, including politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and spies. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also.
    Includes materials written between 1855 and 1875.
  • American Drama 1714-1915

    full text of more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth, reflecting American dramatic writing in all its richness and diversity: plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues and a range of other genres are represented.
    Chadwyck
    Covers: 1714-1911.
  • American History in Video

    Online collection of video on American history and includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
    Alexander Street Press
    Early U.S. history to present day.
  • American Meteorological Society Journals

    Searchable full-text of journals from the AMS.
  • American National Biography (ANB)

    This searchable database contains information on more than American 17,400 men and women. Each entry contains a bibliography for further research and some have photos.
  • American Periodicals (1740 - 1940)

    This searchable database includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from 1741 to 1900. From Proquest.
    Proquest
    Covers: 1741-1900
  • American poetry 1600-1900

    Searchable, browseable collection of over 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets.
    Chadwyck
    Covers: 1600-1900.
  • American Sociological Association Quick Style Guide

    Brief guide of American Sociological Association Style Guide (3rd ed. 2007)
  • American Song

    Searchable database of online music recordings that will contain 50,000 tracks from America's past. Incorporates African American Music (previously a separate database). The database will include songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
    Alexander Street Press
  • American State Papers

    Primary source material comprised of over 6,000 documents of U.S congressional materials from 1789 through 1838.
    Covers: 1789-1838
  • Annual Review of Anthropology

    Covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
  • Annual Review of Political Science

    ARPS covers significant developments in the field of Political Science including political theory and philosophy, international relations, political economy, political behavior, American and comparative politics, public administration and policy, and methodology.
    1998 - present
  • Annual Review of Sociology

    ARS, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of Sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields. Review chapters typically cover social processes, institutions and culture, organizations, political and economic sociology, stratification, demography, urban sociology, social policy, historical sociology, and major developments in sociology in other regions of the world.
    v.1, 1975-
  • AnthroHub

    A digital archive of seven current and historical University of California serial publications in anthropology and archaeology, including Contributions of the UC Archaeological Research Facility, Kroeber Anthropological Society Papers, UC Anthropological Records, UC Archaeological Survey, and UC Publications in American Archaeology and Ethnology. AnthroHub is also a limited index of publications by faculty of the UC Berkeley Anthropology Department past and present.
  • Anthropology Plus

    Combines both “Anthropological Literature” and “Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute".  Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. 
    Coverage is from the late 19th century to present.
  • AnthroSource

    Searchable database of journal articles published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA)
    Covers: 2003-current. For selected journals, coverage begins as early as 1880.
  • AP Images Collection (Accunet)

    (Formerly Accunet AP Photo Archive)  Primary source database from the Associated Press with photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning over 185 years. Over 12 million photographs dating back to 1826, more than 36,000 audio sound bites, more than 340,000 graphics including maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags, illustrations and more.  Images and selective newspapers articles are royalty free for educational use by UCSC faculty, staff, and students only.
    Covers: Primarily 1995-present
  • Apabi Digital Library ( Apabi shu zi zi yuan ping tai. Gong ju shu ku )

    Apabi Digital Resources consists of ebooks, reference works, and yearbooks, select the area you wish to search from their homepage. It includes more than 5,000 titles of e-books on a variety of subjects, including literature, art, history, politics, language, etc.; more than 90 titles in 700 volumes of statistic yearbooks on economics and social conditions; and more than 700 titles of reference works on all subjects. New titles are being added continuously on an annual basis.
    Varies
  • Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)

    Covers aquatic science, aquatic organisms, fisheries, oceanography, ocean technology policy and non-living resources, and aquatic pollution and environmental quality. Includes citations and abstracts.
    Proquest
    Covers: 1971 - present
  • Archive of Americana

    Collectively search "Early American Imprints: Series 1 1639-1800" (Evans), "Early American Imprints: Series 2 1801-1819" (Shaw-Shoemaker), "Early American Newspapers 1690-1876", "Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1 1718 - 1876", "Hispanic American Newspapers 1808 - 1980", "American State Papers 1789-1838", and the "US Congressional Serials Set 1817-1980". Publisher is Readex/NewsBank.
    Coverage varies, 1639-1980.
  • ArchiveGrid

    Includes nearly a million collection descriptions of historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives from around the world.
  • Archives Unbound: Global Missions and Theology

    This collection documents the broad range of nineteenth-century religious missionary activities, practices, and thought in the United States by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records, and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries, and churches. Includes materials on missionary activities among Native Americans and African Americans, both slaves and freedmen, in addition to activities in far-flung regions and countries, such as Africa, Fiji and the Sandwich (Hawaiian) Islands, India, China, Southeast Asia, and Japan.
  • Ars Electronica Archive

    Ars Electronica possesses one of the world’s most extensive archives of digital media art from throughout the last 25 years. It consists of the Catalog Archive and material documenting the Ars Electronica Festival (from 1979), the Archive of the Prix Ars Electronica (from 1987), material on Ars Electronica projects as well as biographies of the artists and theoreticians who took part in them.
  • Art Full Text

    Articles, citations, and abstracts from art periodicals published world-wide.    
    Ebsco
    Covers: 1984 forward; selected full-text 1997 forward.
  • Art Index Retrospective

    Articles listed in Art Index volumes 1-32. Also known as Art Index Retrospective. Covers: Advertising, archaeology, architecture, art history, crafts, design, folk art, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, photography, television, textiles, and more
    Ebsco
    Covers: 1929-1984.
  • Art Source

    Over 640 full-text journals and more than 225 full-text books covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, architecture and architectural design. Coverage dating back to 1929. Includes an Image Collection of over 63,000 images.
    Ebsco
    1929-
  • ARTbibliographies Modern

    Abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
    Covers: late 19th century - present
  • ARTFL

    Database of over 2,600 French language texts from the American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language
    Covers: 13th century - present
  • ArticleFirst

    The Article First database from Firstsearch/OCLC provides citations from the table of contents pages of journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
    Covers: 1990-present.
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index

    Contains citations to 1,100 arts and humanities journals.
    Covers: 1975 - present
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science

    This Web of Knowledge database contains citations to 1,100 arts and humanities journals. Search by subject, author, and journal title. Cited Reference Search finds articles that cite an author or article specified by the searcher.
    Covers: 1975 - present
  • ARTstor

    ARTstor is a digital library of over one million images from many time periods and cultures in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
  • arXiv.org

    Open access to 546,172 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
  • ASCC (Academia Sinica Computing Center Electronic Resources)

    Chinese full-text database for hundreds of works in history (including history of Taiwan), classics, religion, medicine, literature, and law, etc. Chinese input software required to search. Click on the "Free Use" button to search.
  • Asian American Drama

    Full-text searchable and browsable database of plays written by Asian American authors. Contains character and bibliographic information for each play, plus production details for selected plays.
    Chadwyck
    Covers: 1891 - current.
  • Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library

    Searchable database contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1947.
  • Astronomical Society of the Pacific (ASP)

    An international nonprofit scientific and educational organization founded in 1889 that works to increase the understanding and appreciation of astronomy.
  • Astrophysics Data Systems (NASA ADS)

    ADS contains abstracts and citations for materials in astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, Los Alamos preprints, and many archives.
  • ATLA Religion Database

    Database of journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. Subjects include church history, theology, the Bible, and world religions.
    Covers: 1949 - present.
  • ATSDR Toxological Profiles

    From the U.S. Public Health Service's Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry. Provides data on health effects and hazardous substances, chemicals, and compounds.
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ARCH)

    Citations to articles on the following topics: architecture, architectural design, city planning, furniture and decoration, interior design, historic preservation, history of architecture, and urban planning.
    Proquest
    Covers: 1934 - present.
  • Barcode of Life Data Systems

    "Advancing species identification and discovery through the analysis of short standardized gene regions." The Barcode of Life Data Systems (BOLD) is an online workbench that aids collection, management, analysis, and use of DNA barcodes.
  • Bible in English

    20 different versions of the English Bible from the 10th to 20th century.
    Chadwyck
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies

    Citations to materials on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. Citations added between 1971 the 1991 include citations to western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc.
    Covers 1971 - present.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)

    Articles, citations, and abstracts from more than 2,500 periodicals, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibitions, and dealers catalogs. The database  includes both BHA (covering 1990-2007) and the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering the years 2008 and part of 2009.  The Repetoire de la literature de l'art (RILA), one of the predecessors of BHA, with records that cover 1975-1989, is also included.  
    Covers: 1973 - present
  • Biodiversity Heritage Library

    The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of major natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make freely accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections.  Great source for older botany and zoology journal articles and books in full-text. See also their Flickr site for over 24,000 illustrations from many of their books: http://www.flickr.com/photos/biodivlibrary/sets/
  • Biodiversity Heritage Library Book Illustrations on Flickr

    Over 24,000 beautiful natural history and botanical book illustrations from books digitized by the Biodiversity Heritage Library and made available on Flickr.  All of these images are available for free download and re-use through their Creative Commons licenses.
  • Biography Resource Center

    The Biography Resource Center (BioRC) is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 320,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. 
  • BioOne

    Searchable database of 45 online journals in biological, environmental, and ecological science.
    Covers: 2000-present.
  • BIOSIS Citation Index (BCI)

    This is the BIOSIS Previews database with article citation counts added. Citations and abstracts to journal articles in the life sciences. Very interdisciplinary within biology, including biochemistry, ecology, genetics, microbiology, ocean sciences, plant biology, and zoology. You can search BIOSIS, BIOSIS Citation Index, and Web of Science at the same time. Choose the All Databases tab.  
    ISI
    Covers: 1926-present. Citation analysis from articles 2006-present.
  • Birds of North America Online

    Provides scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada, with image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, recordings of bird's songs and calls selected from the collection in Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds 
  • Black Drama

    Full-text searchable and browsable database of plays written by African, Caribbean, and African American authors. Contains character and bibliographic information for each play, plus production details and images for selected plays.
    Alexander Street Press
    Covers: 1850 - current.
  • Black Studies Center

    Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, images, and video. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index.
    Chadwyck
    Coverage varies by publication, 1910-current.
  • Blackwell Companion to Phonology

    The Blackwell Companion to Phonology is a major reference work drawing together 124 new contributions from leading scholars in the field. Led by a team of renowned international scholars, the Companion represents a diverse range of approaches and methodologies to key phenomena in phonological research.
  • Britannica Encyclopedia of World Religions

    "...provides an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the religions of the world and to the concepts, movements, people, and events that have shaped them; 3,500 detailed entries, 30 in-depth articles documenting the attitudes and ideals of major religions, as well as many other key religious topics."
  • Business Source Complete

    Searchable database of articles from scholarly business journals and other sources. Subjects include management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.
    Ebsco
    Covers: 1965 - current, though a few select journals are available from the 1940's and 1950's.
  • Butterfly Populations of Central California

    "Monitoring butterfly populations across Central California for more than 34 years." Descriptions and population data for 159 species and subspecies of butterflies, plus climate data from nearby weather stations, descriptions of study sites and habitats and photos. Created by UC Davis Professor Art Shapiro.
  • C19: The Nineteenth Century Index

    Searchable index to archives, official publications, books, periodical articles, and newspapers published in the 19th century. Text is not included.
    Chadwyck
    Covers: 1770-1919.
  • Calflora

    Information about plants that grow wild in California (both native plants and weeds). Interactive distribution maps, photographs, nomenclature, observations and plant descriptions.
  • Caliber: University of California Press Journals

    Searchable and browsable site with journals published by UC Press.
  • California Digital Library (CDL)

    The CDL assists UC campus libraries with sharing their resources and holdings more effectively, and provide leadership in applying technology to the development of library collections and services.
  • Calisphere

    Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
  • Cambridge Journals Online

    Database with full text for over one hundred journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities from Cambridge University Press (CUP).
  • Cambridge Structural Database (WebCSD)

    The CSD records bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic information for small organic molecules and metal-organic compounds. WebCSD has a built-in editor for structure/similarity searching, plus JMol and AstexViewer.  Because this is a Java application, it may run slow at the beginning of your session. If you continue to have problems with Web CSD running too slowly, please refer to the FAQ page for possible solutions. WebCSD is not a complete substitute for the locally installed version of the database that UCSC researchers can download from the CSD page at UCLA. Power users should consider downloading and installing CSD on their own computers.
  • CAMIO

    CAMIO is OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online.  It includes about 95,000 art images—photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture—plus audio, video and mixed media from cultures from around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.
  • Canadian Poetry

    Full-text collection Canadian poetry from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth.
    Chadwyck
  • Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876

    Part of the America's Historical Newspapers collection, Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876, is a fully searchable collection of over 130 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from twenty-two Caribbean islands. Most newspapers were published in the English language, but a number of Danish-, French-, and Spanish-language titles are included—essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics. NOTE: Select 'Eras in the History of the Caribbean' on the search page.
    1718—1876
  • Case Study Teaching in Science

    A refereed national clearinghouse for case studies for use in teaching science courses, including many in biology, environmental sciences, and chemistry. The use of case studies develops students' skills in group learning, speaking, and critical thinking.
  • Catchword Online Journals

    Full-text database of journals from the publisher Catchword.
  • CDC / Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

    Excellent government resource for a variety of health topics. A sample of topics are: H1N1 (Swine Flu), Environmental Health, Emerging Infectious Diseases, National Center for Health Statistics, Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report.
  • Centre de Données astronomiques de Strasbourg (CDS)

    CDS maintains several databases: SIMBAD, for astronomical objects outside the solar system, VizieR, for catalogs of objects, and the Aladin sky atlas.
  • ChemID Plus (National Library of Medicine)

    Dictionary-style entries for over 350,000 chemical names, over 58,000 of which are enhanced with chemical structures.
  • Chemistry WebBook (NIST)

    Find chemical and physical property data, spectra, etc. Search by chemical species or related data.
  • CHEMnetBASE

    Searchable reference source which includes the following: Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs (Formerly Pharmasource) Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, Polymers: A Property Database, and Properties of Organic Compounds.
  • Chicano Database

    Citations to articles in art, language, sociology, economics, history, literature, and politics of Mexican-American and Latino cultures. Abstracts are not available.
    Covers: 1967 - present
  • Chinese Journal Network/Chinese Academic Journals

    Click on IP-address Access to enter the database. The site contains the full text of 1,710 journals published in China in all academic disciplines. Technical note: The site displays Chinese characters and can only be viewed in newer browsers. In order to view full-text, users must download a Windows-only application (CAJViewer). Windows stations in the library have the application installed.
    Covers: 1994-present.
  • CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online

    Citations to working papers, conference proceedings, books, and journal articles in the area of international affairs. Many resources are full-text.
    Covers: 1991-present.
  • CiNii (Citation Information from the National Institute of Informatics)

    Searchable database of articles and citations to articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and university bulletins published in Japan.
  • Citation Linker

    This tool provides links to the full text of journal articles when the library patron has the full citation for the desired article. If the library does not have access to the full text of the journal, Citation Linker provides links to the catalog record of the print journal and to interlibrary loan request forms.
  • Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective

    The database from Accessible Archives contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury, and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
    Covers: 1860-1865
  • Clase and Periodica (ClasePeriodica)

    CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIÓDICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Scholarly journals published in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English.
    Covers: 1975-present (Clase), 1978-present (Periódica)
  • Classical Music Library

    Database of classical music recordings, with digital audio selections cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.(Mac and Windows computers need Macromedia Flash Player. In addition, Windows users need Microsoft Windows Media Player.)
    Alexander Street Press
  • Classical Scores Library

    Contains 400,000 pages of classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works.  Includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.
    Alexander Street Press
  • Cold Spring Harbor Protocols

    Interactive source of new and classic research techniques. Fully searchable by keyword and subject. Coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. 
  • CollegeSource Online

    College Source provides links to more than 25,000 college catalogs around the world.
  • Columbia Gazetteer Online

    Encyclopedia of geographical places and features. Includes: demography; physical geography; political boundaries; points of interest; transportation lines; longitude, latitude, and elevations; pronunciations; official local government place-names and changed or variant names and spellings.
  • Communication Studies: A Sage Full-Text Collection

    Database of full-text of 37+ electronic journals focusing on the topic of psychology.
    Coverage varies, some titles are searchable back to 1955.
  • comPADRE

    The comPADRE Digital Library is a network of free online resource collections supporting faculty, students, and teachers in Physics and Astronomy Education.
  • Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy

  • Conference Papers Index

    Citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
    1982 - current
  • Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI)

    Global information about women, full-text. Covers journal articles, newsletters, and research reports. Topics include sociology, psychology, health, education, and human rights.
    Covers: 1992 - present
  • Contemporary World Music

    Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. In order to play sound files, Mac and Windows computers need Macromedia Flash Player. In addition, Windows computer users need Microsoft Windows Media Player.
    Alexander Street Press
  • Copyright Clearance Center

    Provides licenses to reproduce or distribute copyright materials.
  • Cosmic Journey: A History of Scientific Cosmology

    Online exhibit from the Center for History of Physics. Tells parallel histories of tools and ideas. Tools of observation range from the naked eye to space telescopes. The ideas of cosmology are conveyed through biographies and portraits of the men of science, with images of their machines and conceptions.
  • CQ Researcher

    CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher is written by seasoned journalists and provides comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Reports include introductory overviews, topic backgrounds and chronologies, an assessment of the current situation, pro-con debates, tables and maps, and bibliographies of key sources.  
    UCSC access: 1991-
  • CQ Weekly

    Searchable, browsable, full-text reports of issues currently under debate before the Senate and House of Representatives. Includes status of bills, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and roll-call votes. Also known as "Congressional Quarterly Weekly."
    Covers: 1983 - current.
  • CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics, Second Edition

  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

    Provides broad coverage of physical science data used by scientists, engineers and students.
  • Creating Effective Poster Presentations

    A quick and useful online guide to creating more effective scientific posters.
  • Creative Commons

    "Offers a flexible range of protections and freedoms for authors and artists. We have built upon the "all rights reserved" of traditional copyright to create a voluntary 'some rights reserved' copyright. We're a nonprofit. All of our tools are free."
  • Criminology: A Sage Full-Text Collection

    Full-text of 23+ journals. Subjects include criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology, and family and domestic violence.
    Coverage varies depending on journal title.
  • CRUZCAT

    Online catalog of the UCSC University Library. This tool contains the holdings of all books, journal titles, media materials, government publications, course reserves and other formats in the UCSC library. It also provides information on the circulation status of these materials.
  • Cruzcat Tutorial

    This interactive tutorial guides the user through search strategies and catalog features. The tutorial also includes a final quiz and the ability to print a Certificate of Completion. The tutorial takes approximately 20 minutes to complete.
  • Current Index to Statistics

    Searchable online index of journal articles and publications in statistics and related fields.  Access limited to association members.
    Covers: 1975-current.
  • Current Protocols in Cell and Molecular Biology

    Includes the popular Current Protocols in Molecular Biology.
  • Dacheng lao jiu kan quan wen shu ju ku

    "Dacheng Old Journal Full-text Database" is a chinese language collection of 7,000 periodicals, 130,000 issues and 1.3 million articles, which were published from 1840 to 1949 in mainland China. Many of the periodicals in Dacheng database are rare and unique during late Qing Dynasty. Most journals may not have the complete run of issues  
    1840-1949
  • Database of Virtual Art

    (Free) The Database of Virtual Art documents the rapidly evolving field of digital installation art. This complex, research-oriented overview of immersive, interactive, telematic and genetic art has been developed in cooperation with established media artists, researchers and institutions.  Compiling video documentation, technical data, interfaces, displays, and literature offers a unique answer to the needs of the field. All works can be linked with exhibiting institutions, events and bibliographical references. Over time the richly interlinked data will also serve as a predecessor for the crucial systematic preservation of this art.
  • Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS)

    Full-text database of documents. The previously classified government documents range from correspondence and memoranda to minutes of cabinet meetings, technical studies, national security policy statements and intelligence reports.
  • Dekker Online Journals

    Database of full-text journals from the publisher Marcel Dekker, Inc. Subjects include scientific, technical, and medical information.
  • Design Automation Publications from ACM

    Full text of proceedings for Design Automation Conference (DAC), International Conference on Computer-Aided Design (ICCAD), International Conference on Computer Design (ICCD), European Design Automation Conference (EDAC), Transactions on Computer-Aided Design, and SIGDA Newsletter and more.
  • Designing Conference Posters

    Pragmatic, useful advice written in an entertaining style from Colin Purrington.  Don't let the easy prose style fool you, there are many great suggestions here.  Highly recommended reading.
  • Dictionary of Earth Sciences

    Oxford University Press, 1999, c2002, edited by Ailsa Allaby and Michael Allaby. Oxford reference online. Limited simultaneous user access. Try again later if refused.
  • Dictionary of Natural Products

    A database of approximately 100,000 organic substances, and includes chemical and physical data together with key literature references. Available online, part of ChemNetBase.
  • Dictionary of Organic Compounds

    A database of over 150,000 organic substances, and includes chemical and physical data together with key literature references. Available online as part of the ChemNetBase.
  • Digital Art Masters

    A series beginning with Vol. 4 of 2D and 3D artists working in the industry today.  Includes images plus a breakdown of the techniques, challenges and tricks the artists employed.
  • Digital Art Museum

    Digital Art Museum is an online resource for the history and practice of digital fine art.  [DAM] is an on-line museum with a comprehensive exhibition of Digital Art by leading Artists in this field since 1956 with a wide range of background information including biographies, articles, a bibliography and interviews. [DAM] also includes an Essays section with articles by artists and theorists specially selected to place the works in context (many of them by special arrangement with Leonardo journal). A History section lists key events and technologies in date order.
  • Directory of Mathematics Preprint and e-Print Servers (from AMS)

    Find articles posted on preprint and e-print servers, such as the Front for the Mathematics ArXiv, MPRESS/MathNet, as well as mathematics departments and institutes.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

    This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
  • Dissertations & Theses @ University of California

    Full-text access to most University of California dissertations filed since 1996 and citations for those filed prior to 1996.
  • Dissertations & Theses A&I (ProQuest)

    Citations for U.S. dissertations and masters' theses. Abstracts are included for all entries published since 1980. Full-text for many University of California dissertations isFSee  available in pdf format.
    Covers: 1861 - present
  • DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music

    Online audio database of nearly 2,300 albums from fifteen independent record labels, including New World, Albany, CRI, Deep Listening, BMOP/sound, Frog Peak, Lovely, and Mode.  Genres covered range from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond.
  • Drug Bank

    A bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure and pathway) information.
  • Duxiu

    Covers Chinese publications from the early 1930s to the present. Searches full text and academic literature resources, including books, newspapers, journals, conference proceedings, patents, standards, video and news,etc. Allows users to preview pages of Chinese e-books contained in the database.
    1930's - present
  • e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection

    Electronic books published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences. The e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection is hosted on the ebrary® platform.
  • Early American Fiction

    Full-text of more than 700 first editions of American novels and short stories from 1789–1875.
    Chadwyck
    Covers: Works written 1789-1875.
  • Early American Imprints Series II

    Full-text digitization of 36,000 American books, pamphlets, broadsides, state papers, and other print genres published from 1801-1819. Based on microform set Early American Imprints, Series II, 1801-1819.
    Covers: 1801-1819.
  • Early American Newspapers Digital

    Full-text facsimile images of newspapers published in the U.S. between 1690-1876.
    Covers: 1690-1876.