Congressional Resources
Selected Congressional materials
available on the Internet and in the University Library

Quick links to titles starting with: C | Congress | CQ | H | J | R |

Source/Topic

Coverage/Update

Location - Arrangement

Almanac of American Politics: the Senators, the Representatives – Their Records, States and Districts.

1972 – current

JK1012.A4 (newest edition at McH Ref Desk, older editions in McH Stacks) See also Politics in America

Apportionment

Based on 2000 Census

Census Bureau Congressional Affairs Office http://www.census.gov/population/www/censusdata/apportionment.html

Bill Tracking

1989 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Legislative Histories, Bills, & Laws)

1973 – current

THOMAS (under Bills, Resolutions) http://thomas.loc.gov

1970 – current

CIS Annual Legislative Histories of U.S. Public Laws, Ref Law KF49.C62 (vols. for 1970-1983 issued in 2 pts.: Abstracts of congressional publications and legislative histories, and: Index to congressional publications and public laws; vols. for 1984- issued in 3 pts.: Abstracts of congressional publications; Legislative histories of U.S. public laws, and Index to congressional publications and public laws.)

1953 – current; (biennial)

CCH (Commerce Clearing House) Congressional Index, J69.C6 (latest 6 years in McH Ref, older editions in McH Stacks)

1936 – 1990 (incomplete); (biweekly with cumulations)

Digest of Public General Bills and Selected Resolutions McH Stacks J52.A3

1873 – 1875

1873-1962; 1985 – current

1963-1984

Scattered issues

American Memory Project’s Century of Lawmaking with other early Congressional documents http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwcr.html

“History of Bills and Resolutions” section of the Congressional Record (in Index volumes), McH Microfrm J11.R5 (v.1-108, v.131)
McH Stacks J11.R5 (v.109-130, Index & Daily Digest only for v.131-143)

NRLF available via ILL J11.R5 (v.1-108:19 scattered issues)

Bills (full-text) (no holdings in paper)

1989 – current (daily when in session)

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Legislative Histories, Bills, & Laws)

1989 – current

THOMAS (under Bill Text) http://thomas.loc.gov

1993 – current

GPO Access – Congressional Bills http://www.gpoaccess.gov/bills/index.html

1799 – 1873 (House)

American Memory Project’s Century of Lawmaking with other early Congressional documents http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwhblink.html

1819 – 1873 (Senate)

American Memory Project’s Century of Lawmaking with other early Congressional documents http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwsblink.html

(Hot Topics)

Current Congress

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Political News/Hot Topics, Hot Bills & Hot Topics)

1989 – current

Roll Call Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Political News/Hot Topics)

Biographical Information (Members of Congress)

1997 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Members & Committees)

1995 – current; (biennial)

1895; 1925-27; 1931 – current

GPO Access, Congressional Directory, http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cdirectory/index.html

JK 1011.A1 (newest edition at McH Ref; earlier editions in McH Stacks)

1997 – current

1967 – current

GPO Access, Congressional Pictorial Directory, http://www.gpoaccess.gov/pictorial/index.html

JK1011.A32 (newest edition in McH Ref; earlier editions in McH Stacks)

1945 – 1964 1945 – 1989

1992 – current

Politics in America, NRLF available via ILL E743.C62 NRLF available via ILL E743.C62 1979

CQ’s Politics in America, JK1010.C67 (newest edition at McH Ref Desk, earlier editions in McH Stacks)

1972 – current

Almanac of American Politics: the Senators, the Representatives - Their Records, States and Districts, JK1012.A4 (newest edition at McH Ref Desk, earlier editions in McH Stacks)

(Former Members of Congress) See also Congressional Papers

1774 – 2005

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774– 2005, GPO Access http://www.gpoaccess.gov/serialset/cdocuments/hd108-222/index.html

McH Ref JK1010.A5 2005

1917 – 1976

1917 – 1990

Women in Congress, 1917 – 1976, McH Ref JK1013.W65 Women in Congress, 1917 – 1990, McH Ref JK1030.A2 W65 1991

Source/Topic

Coverage/Update

Location - Arrangement [return to top]

Calendars of the U.S. House of Representatives and History of Legislation

1995 – current; (weekly while in session)

GPO Access http://www.gpoaccess.gov/calendars/house/index.html

1994 – current

McH Microfiche Y 1.2/2:

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation (records and acts of Congress)

1774 – 1873

American Memory Project’s Century of Lawmaking http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lawhome.html

CIS Annual/CIS Index

1970 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional

McH Ref Law KF49.C6 (vols. for 1970-1983 issued in 2 pts.: Abstracts of congressional publications and legislative histories, and: Index to congressional publications and public laws; vols. for 1984- issued in 3 pts.: Abstracts of congressional publications; Legislative histories of U.S. public laws, and Index to congressional publications and public laws.)

See also CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index and CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Prints Index

CIS Index to U.S. Executive Branch Documents (not printed in the U.S. serial set)

1789 – 1909

McH Ref Z1223.A12 C17 (pt. 1. Commerce and Labor Department. Treasury Department (5 v.) - pt. 2. War Department (4 v.) - pt. 3. Interior Department. Interstate Commerce Commission. Justice Department. Labor Department. Library of Congress (4 v.) - pt. 4. Agriculture Department. American Republics Bureau. Civil Service Commission. District of Columbia. Fish Commission. Freedman’s Savings and Trust Co. Geographic Board. Government Printing Office. General Supply Committee (4 v.) - pt. 5. Navy Department (4 v.) - pt. 6. National Academy of Sciences. National Home for Disabled Volunteer Soldiers. Post Office Department. President of U.S. State Department. Smithsonian Institution (3 v.) - pts. 1-6 Suppl. Index by subjects and names, A-Z, Supplementary indexes - pts. 1-6 Suppl. Reference bibliography, A406 to W7311) Library has: v.1:1-5, v.2:1-4, v.3:1-4, v.4:1-4, v.5:1-4, v.6:1-3, v.1-6 Suppl:v.1-2

CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index See also Hearings

1789 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional

1965 – 1969

McH Ref Law KF40 .C56 (pts 1-8)

CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Prints Index See also Prints

1830 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional

earliest publications – 1969

McH Ref Law KF40.C57 (v. 1-5)

Committee Hearings See Hearings

   

Committee Membership

Current Congress

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Members & Committees)

THOMAS http://thomas.loc.gov

Office of the Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives, http://clerk.house.gov/committee_info/index.html

U.S. Senate, Committees, http://www.senate.gov/pagelayout/committees/d_three_sections_with_teasers/committees_home.htm

 

Historical

Committees in Congress (1984, 1990, 1997), NRLF available via ILL JK 1029 .S64

Congressional Committees, 1789-1982: A Checklist, McH Ref JK1029.S78 1985

Committee Prints See Prints

   

Committee Reports See Reports

   

Committee Schedules or Calendars

Current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Members & Committees, then under Committees)

Current

THOMAS (under Current Activity) http://thomas.loc.gov

Source/Topic

Coverage/Update

Location - Arrangement

Congress-to-Year Conversion

1789 – current

Years of Congress Table http://www.library.unt.edu/govinfo/browse-topics/government-and-politics/politics/years-and-sessions-of-congress/

Congress and the Nation (General Information)

1945 – present; (quadrennial)

McH Ref JK1021.C6

Congressional Digest: The Pro & Con Monthly

1921 - Current

McH Ref JK1 .C65

          Latest 4 yrs in Ref. Other in McH Stacks

Congressional Directory (Official)

1995 – current

GPO Access http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cdirectory/index.html

1951 – 1965

Pocket Congressional Directory, McH Stacks JK1101.A32

1995 – current; (biennial)

1895, 1925-27; 1931 – current

GPO Access, Congressional Directory, http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cdirectory/index.html

JK 1011.A1 (newest edition at McH Ref; earlier editions in McH Stacks)

 

1997 – current

1967 – current; (biennial)

GPO Access , Congressional Pictorial Directory, http://www.gpoaccess.gov/pictorial/index.html

JK1011.A32 (newest edition in McH Ref; earlier editions in McH Stacks)

Congressional Districts

1960, 1966-75, 1983-87, 1993; (biennial)

Congressional District Atlas, S&E Stacks G1201.F7 U5

1945 – 1964

Politics in America, NRLF available via ILL E743.C62

1972 – current

Almanac of American Politics, JK1012.A4 (newest edition at McH Ref Desk; earlier editions in McH Stacks)

Congressional Documents See Documents

   

Congressional Index (CCH)

1953/54 – current; (biennial)

J69.C6 (latest 6 years in McH Ref; earlier editions in McH Stacks)

Congressional Papers (Members of Congress)

1789 – 1982 (Senate)

1789 – 1987 (House)

Guide to Research Collections of Former United States Senators, 1789-1982, McH Ref JK1158.G84 1983 and Suppl. 2

Guide to Research Collections of Former Members of the United States House of Representatives, Look up title in Melvyl/ WorldCat

Congressional Record (and predecessors) “Official record of proceedings and debates”

Two Editions: Daily: Summary of daily activities, committee and floor proceedings, action on bills. Subject index issued separately. Permanent: Slightly edited and consolidated version. Pagination differs from Daily Edition.

1985 – current; updated daily when Congress is in session

Lexis-Nexis Congressional

1989 – current

THOMAS (under Congressional Record) http://thomas.loc.gov

1994 – current

GPO Access (searchable full-text) http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS1671

1873 – 1985 1963 – 1997

Scattered dates

McH Microfrm J11.R5 (v.1-108, v.131) McH Stacks J11.R5 (v.109-130. Index & Daily Digest only for v.131-143. Indexes are last bound volume of each year.) NRLF available via ILL J11.R5 (v.1-108:19)

1985-2003; (daily)

McH Stacks J11.R52 (daily digests are included in v.131-149, index volumes noted by red spines)

June 1963 – 1984

MF 1873-7962

Permanent (red-bound) McH Stacks J11.R5 (Indexes in last volume of each year)

1833 – 1973 Varied coverage

1833 – 1873

Congressional Globe, McH Microfrm J11.G5 NRLF available via ILL J11.G5 (21:1, 22:2, 72-84, 85:1, 86-90, 91:1, 92-95, 96:1, 97-101, 102:1, 103-140, 142-154, 156-180)

Also available on the American Memory Project’s Century of Lawmaking with other early congressional documents. http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwcg.html

1824 – 1837

1824 – 1837

Debates in Congress, 1824 – 1837, McH Microfrm J11.D5 (all issues: 1-14) NRLF Storage J11.D5 (all issues: 1-5, 6:2, 7-14)

Also available on the American Memory Project’s Century of Lawmaking with other early Congressional documents. http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwrd.html

1789 – 1824 1789 – 1856

1789 – 1856

Annals of Congress, 1789 – 1824 (Also known as Debates and Proceedings in the Congress of the United States), Microfrm J11.A5 1-42 (1-18) NRLF available via ILL J11.A5 (all issues: 1-42)

Abridgement of the Debates of Congress, from 1789-1856, McH Stacks J15.B4

Making of America (via Univ. of Michigan), http://quod.lib.umich.edu/cgi/b/bib/bibperm?q1=AHJ4053.0001.001

THOMAS, http://thomas.loc.gov

American Memory Project’s Century of Lawmaking with other early Congressional documents, http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwhblink.html

Congressional Record INDEX (See also Congressional Record, above)

PERMANENT EDITION

1983 – current

GPO Access (searchable full-text) http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS8316

1989 – current

THOMAS (under Congressional Record) http://thomas.loc.gov

1873 – 1985 1963 – 1997

Scattered dates

McH Microfrm J11.R5 (v.1-108, 131) McH Stacks J11.R5 (v.109-130. Index & Daily Digest only for v.131-143. Indexes are last bound volume of each year)

NRLF available via ILL J11.R5 (v.1-108:19 scattered issues)

 

1985-2003; (daily)

McH Stacks J11.R52 (daily digests are included in v.131-149, index volumes noted by red spines)

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports

Selected reports

Open CRS http://www.opencrs.com/

1979/80 – 1984/85 1979/80 – 1983/84

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service Supplement, McH Microfrm JK1108.M257 McH Ref JK1108.M257 Guide

1970 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional

Many CRS studies are released as committee prints. See CIS Annual/ CIS Index

Congressional Staff Directory

1975 – 1989; (annual)

NLRF available via ILL JK1012.C65

Source/Topic

Coverage/Update

Location - Arrangement

CQ Almanac Plus (General information)

1962 – 2000; (annual) 2001 – current; (annual)

JK1.C66, 18-56 (newest editions at McH Ref until summarized in: Congress and the Nation (McH Ref JK1021.C6); earlier editions in McH Stacks)

[CQ] Guide to Congress (General information)

5th edition

McH Ref JK1021.C56 2000 (v.1-2)

CQ Weekly

1983 – current

CQ Weekly or via CRUZCAT

July, 2003 – current

1998; 1999-2002; Jan-June 2003

1961-70; 1971; 1972-83; 1984;1985-97; 1998

JK1.C15 (newest editions in McH Ref, earlier editions in McH Stacks) NRLF available via ILL JK1.C15 (v. 56:16-50, 57-60, 61:1-26)

CQ Weekly Report, NRLF available via ILL JK1.C15 (v. 19-28, 29:1-9,27-52, 30-41, 42:1-18,20-52, 43-55, 56:1-15)

CQ.com on Congress

Approx. 1995 – current for most resources

CQ.com on Congress, Legislative tracking and Capitol Hill news service. Unique content includes CQ BillWatch (essay style analysis back to 1995), CQ Schedules, and CQ Archives. Access not available for every listed resource.

Documents

Note: Documents are also included in the U.S. Serial Set. (J66 + Serial Set number)

1995 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Congressional Publications)

(Senate, House, & Treaty)

1995 – current; (updated irregularly)

GPO Access, Congressional Documents, http://www.gpoaccess.gov/serialset/cdocuments/index.html

(House and Senate)

1789 – 2000

2000 – current

U.S. Serial Set J66

Electronic only, via GPO Access or CRUZCAT

(Finding Aid)

 

Lexis-Nexis Congressional See CIS Annual/CIS Index

 

1830 – 1969

1995 – current

1963 – 2000

1935/36 – 1961/62

1823/24-1961/62th scattered holdings

U.S. Congressional Serial Set via READEX

GPO Access (contents not by serial set number) http://www.gpoaccess.gov/serialset/index.html

McH Stacks J66

McH Microfrm J66

At NRLF available via ILL J66

Election Statistics

(Voter Registration and Turnout)

1960 – current

Election Assistance Commission http://www.eac.gov/clearinghouse/voter-turnout-and-statistics/

1964 – current

U.S. Census – Voting and Registration http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/voting.html

(Voting Statistics)

1954/55 – current; (biennial)

America Votes, McH Ref JK1967.A8

Executive Branch Documents See CIS Index to U.S. Executive Branch Documents (not printed in the U.S. Serial Set)

   

Financial Disclosures

   

(Member Personal Finances)

1997 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Members & Committees)

(Member Personal Finances – House)

1981 – current

Financial Disclosure Reports of Members of the U.S. House of Representatives, Gov Pubs US Docs Y 1.1/7: (current unbound) McH Stacks J66 (bound editions). **Ask at McH Ref Desk for appropriate Serial Set volume numbers.

(Political Action Committee and individual campaign contributions)

1989 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Members & Committees)

Two most recent election cycles

Federal Election Commission (under Campaign Finance Reports and Data) http://www.fec.gov

1979/80 – current

CQ Money Line from CQ Politics http://moneyline.cq.com/

Source/Topic

Coverage/Update

Location - Arrangement

Hearings

1824 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Congressional Publications, Advanced Search

Hearings

1995 – current

GPO ACCESS http://www.gpoaccess.gov/chearings/index.html

Hearings

2002 – current

1970 – current

Paper SuDoc copies retained for at least 5 years in Gov Pub US Docs Y4

McH Microfrm KF49.C623

1833 – 1969

1959/63 – 1971/74

1975/76 – 1979/80

CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index, McH Ref Law KF40.C56 (pts. 1-8) Titles may be borrowed from California State Library or UC Berkeley

Cumulative Index of Congressional Committee Hearings (not confidential in character), Quadrennial Supplement, McH Ref Z1223.A32

Cumulative index of congressional committee hearings (not confidential in character), Supplement McH Ref Z1223.A32

(Finding Aid)

1970 – current

current

current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional

CIS Annual, McH Ref Law KF49.C6 CIS Index to Publications of the United States Congress, McH Ref Law KF49.C62 – Index (current issues retained until cumulated in CIS Annual.) McH Ref Law KF49.C62 – Abstracts

1833 – 1969

CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index, McH Ref Law KF40.C56 (pts. 1-8)

(Unpublished House Hearings)

1833 – 1936

1937 – 1946

1947 – 1954

CIS Index to Unpublished U.S. House of Representatives Committee Hearings, McH Ref Law KF40.C54 1988-1936 (v. 1-2)

CIS Index to unpublished U.S. House of Representatives committee hearings, 1937-1946, McH Ref Law KF40.C54 1937-1946 (v. 1-2)

CIS Index to Unpublished U.S. House of Representatives Committee Hearings, 1947-1954 McH Ref Law KF40.C54 1947-1954 (v. 1-2)

(Finding Aid), (Unpublished Senate Hearings)

1823 – 1964

1965 – 1968

CIS Index to Unpublished U.S. Senate Committee Hearings, McH Ref Law KF40.C55 1823-1964 (v. 1-3)

CIS Index to Unpublished U.S. Senate Committee Hearings, McH Ref Law KF40.C55 1965-1968

The Hill

1995 – present

The Hill is a non-partisan, non-ideological weekly newspaper that describes the inner workings of Congress”
http://www.hillnews.com/

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Political News/ Hot Topics)

Source/Topic

Coverage/Update

Location - Arrangement

Journal (House)

Official title: Journal of the House of Representatives of the United States of America

1991 – current

GPO Access
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/hjournal/index.html

1789 – 1875

American Memory Project’s Century of Lawmaking http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwhj.html

1963 – current 1991 – current 1789 – 1800

McH Stacks J45.A1 1963 Gov Pubs CD XJH: CD-ROM Electronic resource, via Early American Imprints, restricted to UC campuses

Journal (Senate)

Official title: Journal of the Senate of the United States of America

1789 – 1875

American Memory Project’s Century of Lawmaking http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amlaw/lwsj.html

1792 – 1800

Electronic resource, via Early American Imprints, restricted to UC campuses

Laws see also U.S. Code

1969 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws)

1994 – current

GPO Access http://www.gpoaccess.gov/uscode/index.html

1973 – current

U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCCAN), McH Ref Law KF63.U5

1957 – current 1789 – 1956

U.S. Statutes at Large, McH Ref Law KF50.U5 McH Microfrm KF50.U5

Legislative Histories

1969 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Legislative Histories, Bills, & Laws)

1973 – current

THOMAS (under Bills, Resolutions – Bill Summary and Status) http://thomas.loc.gov

1983 – current

GPO Access (History of Bills) http://www.gpoaccess.gov/hob/index.html

1973 – current

U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCCAN), McH Ref Law KF63.U5

1970 – current

CIS Annual: Legislative Histories, McH Ref Law KF49 .C6 See also CIS Annual/CIS Index

Numerical Lists and Schedule of Volumes - continued by U.S. Congressional Serial Set Catalog

1933/34 – 1979/80 1983/34 – current (NOTE: Serial Set may be delayed in publication)

McH Ref J66 Index McH Ref J66 Index (documents and reports listed numerically by Congress and U.S. Serial Set volume numbers.)

Politics in America (General Information)

1945 – 1964 1945 – 1989

1992 – current

NRLF available via ILL E743.C62 NRLF available via ILL E743.C62 1979

CQ’s Politics in America, JK1010.C67 (newest edition at McH Ref Desk, earlier editions in McH Stacks) See also Almanac of American Politics

Prints (Selected)

1830 – current

1970 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Congressional Publications, Advanced Search) Can be searched full-text

McH Microfrm KF49.C623

 

2002 – current

Gov Pubs U.S. Docs under Y4 (paper SuDoc copies retained for at least 5 years)

(Finding Aid)

1970 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional

CIS Annual, McH Ref Law KF49.C6

 

earliest publications – 1969

CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Prints Index, McH Ref Law KF40.C57

Source/Topic

Coverage/Update

Location - Arrangement

Reports (Senate, House and Senate Executive) See also U.S. Serial Set

1819 – current; (updated daily when Congress is in session)

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Congressional Publications, Advanced Search) – can be searched full-text

 

1970 – current

McH Microfrm KF49.C623

 

1995 – current

GPO Access http://www.gpoaccess.gov/serialset/creports/index.html

OR

THOMAS (under Committee Reports) http://thomas.loc.gov

 

2002 – current

Gov Pubs U.S. Docs by SuDoc number as separately published documents; paper SuDoc copies retained for at least 5 years

(Finding Aid)

1970 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional

CIS Annual, McH Ref Law KF49.C6

 

1789 – 1969

1789 – 1969

U.S. Serial Set Index, McH Ref Law KF40.C58 (v. 1-12) S&E Maps (v. 14:1-10)

CIS U.S. Serial Set Index, 1789-1969: User Handbook, McH Ref Law KF40.C582 1980

Roll Call

1989 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Political News/ Hot Topics)

Roll Call (under Advanced Search & Archives) http://www.rollcall.com

Serial Set

1817 – 1969

1963 – 2000 1935/36 – 1961/62 scattered holdings

Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set (online)

McH Stacks J66 McH Microfrm J66 NRLF available via ILL J66

Serial Set Index (CIS)

1789 – 1969

1789 – 1969

McH Ref Law KF40.C58 (v. 1-12) S&E Maps (v. 14:1-10)

CIS U.S. Serial Set Index, 1789-1969: User Handbook, McH Ref Law KF40.C582 1980

1970 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional

CIS Annual/ CIS Index, Ref Law KF49.C62 (search for committee reports and documents)

Testimony See Hearings

   

Treaty Documents

1985 – current

1950 – 1984 (scattered holdings

1941, 1958-1959, 1962, 1964-

TIAS (United States Treaties and Other International Agreements Series), Gov Pubs U.S. Docs S9.10:

McH Stacks KZ235.3 .U55

Treaties in Force McH Ref Law KZ235 .U55 -

United States Code See also Laws

1969 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Legislative Histories, Bills, & Laws)

1988, 1994, & 2000 editions, with updating supplements

Office of the Law Revision Counsel http://uscode.house.gov/search/prevcode.shtml

1994 and 2000 editions with updating supplements

GPO Access http://www.gpoaccess.gov/uscode/index.html

U.S. Serial Set See Serial Set

1980, 1984-85, 1989-90

 

Vital Statistics on Congress

1989 – current/daily

JK 1041.V58 (newest edition in McH Ref, earlier editions in McH Stacks)

Voting Records

1990 – current

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (under Members & Committees)

(House)

1983 – current

July, 2003 – current 1998 – 2002; Jan-June 2003

1961-70; 1971; 1972-83; 1984;1985-97; 1998

1962 – 2000; (annual)

2001 – current; (annual)

Office of the Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives http://clerk.house.gov/

(House and Senate)

Historical

CQ Weekly/Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report or via CRUZCAT JK1.C15 (McH Ref for newest editions; earlier editions in McH Stacks) – Votes listed at end of each issue NRLF available via ILL JK1.C15, 56:16-50, 57-60, 61:1-26

CQ Weekly Report, NRLF available via ILL JK1.C15, 19-28, 29:1-9,27-52, 30-41, 42:1-18,20-52, 43-55, 56:1-15

CQ Almanac, McH Stacks JK1.C66, 18-56 – With yearly compilations of voting records

CQ Almanac Plus, JK1.C66 (newest editions in McH Ref until summarized in: Congress and the Nation (McH Ref JK1021.C6); earlier editions in McH Stacks)

 

1993 – current

See: Congressional Record, Listed under the heading "Yea and Nay Votes” in the Index.

(Senate)

1977 – current

Senate record votes, Gov Pubs U.S. Docs Y4.3:

Printable PDF Format (13 pgs/150 KB)

This guide was adapted from University of Washington, Congressional Resources <http://www.lib.washington.edu/govpubs/congress.pdf>, originally compiled by Cass Hartnett and UW Libraries staff

Lucia Orlando and Chelsea Morse 12/20/07

Selected Web addresses:

Lexis-Nexis Congressional http://web.lexis-nexis.com/congcomp

GPO Access http://www.gpoaccess.gov/index.html

THOMAS http://thomas.loc.gov

UCSC Gov Docs Page http://library.ucsc.edu/library/gov/index.html