Research Tools and Databases in History

1800-1924

Full-text, primary-source archive of historical African newspapers. Includes over 60 newspapers published between 1800 and 1924 in Ghana, Kenya, Mozambique, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, and other countries across sub-Saharan Africa. Part of the Readex World Newspaper Archive.

Covers: Articles written 1964 - present.

Historical coverage of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Contains citations and abstracts for articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.

America: History & Life
1718—1876

Part of the America's Historical Newspapers collection, Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876, is a fully searchable collection of over 130 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from twenty-two Caribbean islands. Most newspapers were published in the English language, but a number of Danish-, French-, and Spanish-language titles are included—essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.

NOTE: Select 'Eras in the History of the Caribbean' on the search page.

Also available via Cruzcat
15th century to present

Citations and abstracts covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), indexing more than 2300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 

Historical Abstracts
Coverage: Latest 3-7 years not available.

Older full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals.

Over 10,000 full-text articles from key reference resources on African American and African history and culture. Includes over 2500 images, more than 450 primary sources with specially written commentaries, nearly 200 maps, and more than 150 charts and tables offering information on everything from demographics, government, and politics, to business and labor, education, and the arts.

Coverage varies, mid 1990s to the present.

Full text articles of 400+ peer-reviewed journals from Johns Hopkins University Press.