Covers aquatic science, aquatic organisms, fisheries, oceanography, ocean technology policy and non-living resources, and aquatic pollution and environmental quality. Includes citations and abstracts.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of major natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make freely accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections. Great source for older botany and zoology journal articles and books in full-text. See also their Flickr site for over 24,000 illustrations from many of their books: http://www.flickr.com/photos/biodivlibrary/sets/
This is the BIOSIS Previews database with article citation counts added. Citations and abstracts to journal articles in the life sciences. Very interdisciplinary within biology, including biochemistry, ecology, genetics, microbiology, ocean sciences, plant biology, and zoology. You can search BIOSIS, BIOSIS Citation Index, and Web of Science at the same time. Choose the All Databases tab.
Unique literature awareness tool. Highly selective and highly subjective database of the "best" articles in biology and medicine selected and reviewed by top researchers. You can search for specific articles or topics, or browse various Top 10 lists. Register for alerts to have articles of interest emailed to you.
Large multidisciplinary search engine with results ranking and previews. Google Scholar indexes scholarly literature including journal articles. *Note: free public access available at http://scholar.google.com/
Multidisciplinary index to scholarly and authoritative articles. Provides access to all three parts of the Citation Index: Arts and Humanities, Social Science and Science. Search by subject, author, journal title. Cited Reference Search finds articles that cite an author or article that you specify.