Full text electronic access to encyclopedias, handbooks, and biographical works in all academic subjects. Individual titles are searchable, though the collection is not cross-searchable.
Full-text works, published in Heinemann's African Writers Series, of prose fiction and non-fiction, poetry, and drama by writers across sub-Saharan Africa, 1946-2003.
Apabi Digital Resources consists of ebooks, reference works, and yearbooks, select the area you wish to search from their homepage. It includes more than 5,000 titles of e-books on a variety of subjects, including literature, art, history, politics, language, etc.; more than 90 titles in 700 volumes of statistic yearbooks on economics and social conditions; and more than 700 titles of reference works on all subjects. New titles are being added continuously on an annual basis.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of major natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make freely accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections. Great source for older botany and zoology journal articles and books in full-text. See also their Flickr site for over 24,000 illustrations from many of their books: http://www.flickr.com/photos/biodivlibrary/sets/
Over 24,000 beautiful natural history and botanical book illustrations from books digitized by the Biodiversity Heritage Library and made available on Flickr. All of these images are available for free download and re-use through their Creative Commons licenses.
The Blackwell Companion to Phonology is a major reference work drawing together 124 new contributions from leading scholars in the field. Led by a team of renowned international scholars, the Companion represents a diverse range of approaches and methodologies to key phenomena in phonological research.
A series beginning with Vol. 4 of 2D and 3D artists working in the industry today. Includes images plus a breakdown of the techniques, challenges and tricks the artists employed.
Full-text access to most University of California dissertations filed since 1996 and citations for those filed prior to 1996.
Electronic books published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences. The e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection is hosted on the ebrary® platform.
Full-text digital electronic book site. Contains many academic and University of California Press ebook titles. (Formerly known as NetLibrary.)
NOTE: Safari browser recommended for Mac users.
Searchable electronic book site. Includes university press titles. Can read online, requires free "ebrary Reader" software installation on workstation to print selected pages.
The complete text of over 149 engineering handbooks from CRC Press, many of which contain substantial tables of data. Each chapter is a pdf file and is full-text searchable. Sample titles include: Handbook of Formulas and Tables for Signal Processing. Mac users: Best viewed using the Safari browser.
Full text of reference books in the areas of neurology and psychiatry.
Note: Mac users should use the Safari Web browser for best results.
The UCSC Library has purchased several field guides in online formats, some for use on computers, and some for use on the library's iPads, that UCSC students, faculty and staff can borrow from the McHenry Library.
Offers electronic access to selected books in biology, business and management, classical studies, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, neuroscience, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, religion and social work.
For titles accessible through the UCSC Library, browse these collections by subject, then click on the 'Availability: Full Text' limit.
An electronic book with suggestions for how to make a good presentation, including some PowerPoint tips and tips for presenting complicated equations.
Searchable and browsable collection of online books on technology, digital media and professional development topics.
The library consists of a 50- to 100-page "Lecture"; a self-contained electronic book that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by an expert contributor to the field.
The library and its lectures are organized by series. New series and lectures will be added continuously and existing lectures will be revised as needed. Published by Morgan & Claypool.
The Tozzer Library (Harvard University) is the oldest library in the United States devoted to collecting ethnology, archaeology, and related anthropological fields. Hollis - the catalog of the Harvard libraries allows limiting of results to materials in the Tozzer Library only.
The George and Mary Foster Anthropology Library, located in Kroeber Hall, is a branch library of The UCB Library System. OskiCat - the catalog of the UC Berkeley libraries allows limiting of results to materials in the Anthropology Library only.
Full-text database with over 1200 World Bank publications and working papers, searchable by keywords, title, and author.