Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa.
A wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by our partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides are organized into three collections: African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes, African Plants, and Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa.
Brief guide of American Sociological Association Style Guide (3rd ed. 2007)
A digital archive of seven current and historical University of California serial publications in anthropology and archaeology, including Contributions of the UC Archaeological Research Facility, Kroeber Anthropological Society Papers, UC Anthropological Records, UC Archaeological Survey, and UC Publications in American Archaeology and Ethnology. AnthroHub is also a limited index of publications by faculty of the UC Berkeley Anthropology Department past and present.
An international nonprofit scientific and educational organization founded in 1889 that works to increase the understanding and appreciation of astronomy.
Over 24,000 beautiful natural history and botanical book illustrations from books digitized by the Biodiversity Heritage Library and made available on Flickr. All of these images are available for free download and re-use through their Creative Commons licenses.
Searchable database of 45 online journals in biological, environmental, and ecological science.
The CDL assists UC campus libraries with sharing their resources and holdings more effectively, and provide leadership in applying technology to the development of library collections and services.
A refereed national clearinghouse for case studies for use in teaching science courses, including many in biology, environmental sciences, and chemistry. The use of case studies develops students' skills in group learning, speaking, and critical thinking.
Excellent government resource for a variety of health topics. A sample of topics are:
This tool provides links to the full text of journal articles when the library patron has the full citation for the desired article. If the library does not have access to the full text of the journal, Citation Linker provides links to the catalog record of the print journal and to interlibrary loan request forms.
Database of classical music recordings, with digital audio selections cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.(Mac and Windows computers need Macromedia Flash Player. In addition, Windows users need Microsoft Windows Media Player.)
College Source provides links to more than 25,000 college catalogs around the world.
The comPADRE Digital Library is a network of free online resource collections supporting faculty, students, and teachers in Physics and Astronomy Education.
Online exhibit from the Center for History of Physics. Tells parallel histories of tools and ideas. Tools of observation range from the naked eye to space telescopes. The ideas of cosmology are conveyed through biographies and portraits of the men of science, with images of their machines and conceptions.
A quick and useful online guide to creating more effective scientific posters.
(Free) The Database of Virtual Art documents the rapidly evolving field of digital installation art. This complex, research-oriented overview of immersive, interactive, telematic and genetic art has been developed in cooperation with established media artists, researchers and institutions. Compiling video documentation, technical data, interfaces, displays, and literature offers a unique answer to the needs of the field. All works can be linked with exhibiting institutions, events and bibliographical references. Over time the richly interlinked data will also serve as a predecessor for the crucial systematic preservation of this art.
Pragmatic, useful advice written in an entertaining style from Colin Purrington. Don't let the easy prose style fool you, there are many great suggestions here. Highly recommended reading.
Digital Art Museum is an online resource for the history and practice of digital fine art. [DAM] is an on-line museum with a comprehensive exhibition of Digital Art by leading Artists in this field since 1956 with a wide range of background information including biographies, articles, a bibliography and interviews.
[DAM] also includes an Essays section with articles by artists and theorists specially selected to place the works in context (many of them by special arrangement with Leonardo journal). A History section lists key events and technologies in date order.
A list of research sites from The School of Visual Arts to further learn about international resources of digital art. These sites were selected for their ongoing activities and research, as well as for their archival content. Many of these sites also contain links that will further guide the reader.
Searchable database of detailed abstracts of all environmental impact statements issued by the US government. Each entry includes a description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates.
Non-profit organization provides investigative reports, detailed analysis, and free databases on issues including agriculture and public lands as well as toxics and pesticides in food, water, the environment ad people.
Database of working papers, pre-publication scholarship, and electronic texts by faculty in UC research units, centers, and academic departments.
An open respository for peer-reviewed posters in biology and medicine. In addition to the value of the data in the posters, its a good place to see a lot of examples to get inspiration if you are creating a poster yourself.
Large searchable database of academically valuable Web resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities along with many instructional and reference tools.
Gateway for internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. LANIC's editorially reviewed directories contain over 10,000 unique URLs, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet.
Help getting the most out of the MathSciNet database (http://www.ams.org/mathscinet/)
Books, periodical titles, media, and other publications from all of the UC campus libraries.
Movie reviews published at the time the film was released.
A searchable bibliographic database for the MCLCC is available. The collection focuses on literature for grades k-8. Fiction, poetry, music, folk literature, history and picture are included.
The NAA collect and preserve historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of anthropology. Their collections represent the four fields of anthropology – ethnology, linguistics, archaeology, and physical anthropology – and include fieldnotes, journals, manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, maps, sound recordings, film and video created by Smithsonian anthropologists and other preeminent scholars.
Information about research, clinical trials, funding opportunities, and the "Cancer Library".
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
As the nation's medical research agency, the NIH promotes research and communication on aspects of biomedicine, health and environmental toxicology. Both academic research and consumer health topics are available, as well as research grant information.
Searchable catalog of digital resources: working papers, preprints, eprints, 'hard-to-find' documents from academic organizations around the world.
Database contains bibliographic information for journals and periodicals owned by OCLC member libraries.
A searchable or browsable list of online journals licensed by UCSC and the California Digital Library. The database links to the website and full-text of each journal.
An electronic book with suggestions for how to make a good presentation, including some PowerPoint tips and tips for presenting complicated equations.
For medical articles - this is the place to go. For the most up-to-date access to peer-reviewed articles on an incredible variety of biomedical topics, including medical research, genetics, bioinformatics, physiology, oncology, nursing and more. If you don't see the UC E-Links button in the Abstract display, you are not in the customized UC version!
Founded in 1999, the Rhizome ArtBase is an online archive of new media art containing some 2532 art works, and growing. The ArtBase encompasses a vast range of project by artists all over the world that employ materials such as software, code, websites, moving images, games and browsers to aesthetics and critical ends.
Searchable union catalog from the Research Libraries Group (RLG) with records for books, periodical titles, and media in research libraries around the world. (Formerly known as RCAT). Does not contain journal articles.
Provides access to information and databases about environmental effects of specific factories and related communities. Also contains links to TRI (Toxic Release Inventory) data.
"largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet"
Describes art auction and rare book catalogs for sales from the late sixteenth century to the present. Records include the dates and places of sales, the auction houses, sellers, institutional holdings, and titles of works. Vendor is RLG/Eureka.
Service of the Environmental Defense Fund that uses data from the EPA's Toxic Release Inventory plus other governmental and scientific agencies.
Web pages that perform statistical calculations
Fifty-six silent films issued by Thanhouser Company between 1910 and 1917, viewable online.
Provides box office information for films.
THOMAS was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress. The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public.
Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC) Digital Library
The Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center is dedicated to the preservation, organization and dissemination of Tibetan literature. Includes digital Tibetan texts; searchable database of people, places, and teachings.
Searchable holdings of the Jean and Bill Lane Library at the UCSC Arboretum.
For creators working in ephemeral formats who want posterity to experience their work more directly than through second-hand documentation or anecdote, the variable media paradigm encourages creators to define their work independently from medium so that the work can be translated once its current medium is obsolete.
It aims to pair creators with museum and media consultants to imagine potential futures for works in ephemeral formats, including digital media, performances, and installations.
Resources located at the Science & Engineering Library.
The source for global information on health policy, research, reports and statistics. Information can be gathered by country or by topic.