The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library.
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Full-text of african american 19th century newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder,
Full-text, primary-source archive of historical African newspapers. Includes over 60 newspapers published between 1800 and 1924 in Ghana, Kenya, Mozambique, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, and other countries across sub-Saharan Africa. Part of the Readex World Newspaper Archive.
Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa.
A wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by our partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides are organized into three collections: African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes, African Plants, and Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa.
This searchable database contains the full text of approximately 32,000 pages of letters, diaries and memoirs. Over 460 authors are represented, including politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and spies. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also.
This searchable database includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from 1741 to 1900. From Proquest.
Primary source material comprised of over 6,000 documents of U.S congressional materials from 1789 through 1838.
Collectively search "Early American Imprints: Series 1 1639-1800" (Evans), "Early American Imprints: Series 2 1801-1819" (Shaw-Shoemaker), "Early American Newspapers 1690-1876", "Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1 1718 - 1876", "Hispanic American Newspapers 1808 - 1980", "American State Papers 1789-1838", and the "US Congressional Serials Set 1817-1980". Publisher is Readex/NewsBank.
Includes nearly a million collection descriptions of historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives from around the world.
This collection documents the broad range of nineteenth-century religious missionary activities, practices, and thought in the United States by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records, and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries, and churches. Includes materials on missionary activities among Native Americans and African Americans, both slaves and freedmen, in addition to activities in far-flung regions and countries, such as Africa, Fiji and the Sandwich (Hawaiian) Islands, India, China, Southeast Asia, and Japan.
Ars Electronica possesses one of the world’s most extensive archives of digital media art from throughout the last 25 years. It consists of the Catalog Archive and material documenting the Ars Electronica Festival (from 1979), the Archive of the Prix Ars Electronica (from 1987), material on Ars Electronica projects as well as biographies of the artists and theoreticians who took part in them.
Searchable index to archives, official publications, books, periodical articles, and newspapers published in the 19th century. Text is not included.
Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Part of the America's Historical Newspapers collection, Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876, is a fully searchable collection of over 130 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from twenty-two Caribbean islands. Most newspapers were published in the English language, but a number of Danish-, French-, and Spanish-language titles are included—essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.
NOTE: Select 'Eras in the History of the Caribbean' on the search page.
Full-text digitization of 36,000 American books, pamphlets, broadsides, state papers, and other print genres published from 1801-1819. Based on microform set Early American Imprints, Series II, 1801-1819.
Primary documents from early recorded history of North America. Includes transcriptions of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.
Digitally scanned full-text of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with important works from the Americas.
Digitized original documents relating to Empire Studies from 1492 - 2007. Images of the texts without transcriptions. Includes thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies.
Database of digitized images of primary documents from American history. Subjects include agriculture, foreign affairs, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, and witchcraft.
Contains the full text of the nineteenth century magazine. The publication was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America. In addition to extensive fashion descriptions and plates, the early issues included biographical sketches, articles about handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene for ladies, recipes & remedies, etc.
Full-text database of English and Spanish language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
ISEA is international nonprofit organization fostering interdisciplinary academic discourse and exchange among culturally diverse organizations and individuals working with art, science and technology. The main activity of ISEA International is the annual International Symposium on Electronic Art.
Digital facsimiles of literature on economics and business published from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. The collection contains materials on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport; documents the dynamics of Western trade and wealth. Formerly: Making of the Modern Economy
North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies. Each year we'll add more than 20,000 new records. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.
Database of full-text of women's diaries and correspondence.
Provides access to materials such as manuscripts, photographs, and works of art held in libraries, museums, archives, and other institutions across California. Primary sources include letters, diaries, manuscripts, legal and financial records, photographs and other pictorial items, maps, architectural and engineering records, artwork, scientific logbooks, electronic records, sound recordings, oral histories artifacts and ephemera.
Over 10,000 full-text articles from key reference resources on African American and African history and culture. Includes over 2500 images, more than 450 primary sources with specially written commentaries, nearly 200 maps, and more than 150 charts and tables offering information on everything from demographics, government, and politics, to business and labor, education, and the arts.
Primary-source material for the study of popular music, featuring full text of 20,000+ articles from nearly 50 years of American and British popular-music journalism, spanning popular, niche, and industry publications; includes audio section of over 300 interviews with music personalities
Full-text searchable database of the San Francisco Chronicle from Proquest.
Consists of the papyrus documents that were found in the winter of 1899/1900 at the site of ancient Tebtunis, Egypt. Searchable using Luna Imaging's Insight software.
Searchable database that documents the key events and movements in 1960s America. Contains letters, diaries, and oral histories, posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and audio and video materials. Also includes analysis and interpretive essays by leading historians.
transmediale engages in reflective, aesthetic and speculative positions in between art, technology and culture. An annual festival and numerous cooperation projects articulate the relationship between technology and culture in non-linear, dynamic ways. transmediale expresses a critical understanding of technology as being more than the digital as well as of the cultural being more than what is going on within institutionalised fields of production.
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The site indexes individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and special news-related programming since 1989.
Searchable, full-text database of books and journal articles covering women's history and feminism.