Databases and Research Tools, Format = Newspapers
-
Coverage: Varies
Full-text access to newspapers at the local, state, regional, national and international levels. From Newsbank.
-
Coverage varies, 1827 - 1902.
Full-text of african american 19th century newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder,
-
Covers: 1690-1876.
Searchable database of text of early American newspapers. Articles and pages can be viewed as images in a Web browser, or downloaded as pdf documents. Part of the Archive of Americana collection from Newsbank/Readex.
-
Covers: 1860-1865
The database from Accessible Archives contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury, and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
-
Covers: 1690-1876.
Full-text facsimile images of newspapers published in the U.S. between 1690-1876.
-
Covers: 1808-1980.
Full-text database of English and Spanish language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
-
Covers 1945+
Newspaper database for Asahi shinbun 1945+. Also includes articles from the weekly magazines Aera and Shukan Asahi, and from the annual new-word dictionary Chiezo.Text is in Japanese.
-
1986 - present.
Full-text english language news service about Latin America from newspapers and journals. Covers Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean including Cuba, and South America. In English and Spanish.
-
Coverage varies
News coverage in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Company information. Federal and states court cases back to 1789.
-
Coverage varies
News coverage in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Company information. Federal and states court cases back to 1789.
-
Covers: 1985 - current.
Digital full-text database of current Los Angeles Times articles (1985+) from Proquest.
-
Covers: 1881-1986.
Database of digital full-text articles the Los Angeles Times (1881-1886) from Proquest.
-
A searchable index to 250 Arabic newspapers.
-
Covers: 1999 - current.
Database of full-text New York Times articles. From Proquest.
-
Covers: 1851-2001.
Database of full-text New York Times articles. Full text covers New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2001). From Proquest.
-
Part of Newsbank's "Access World News" site. Searchable text of over 800 news sources in the United States. Includes newspapers, blogs, and some video feeds.
-
Coverage varies: 1800-1925
Cumulative index to 19th century periodicals prior to 1925, the New York Daily Tribune (1875-1906) and The New York Times (1863-1905) and full text links to the citations from Harper's Magazine Index, Atlantic Monthly, North American Review, and some additional titles.
-
Covers 1906-1980.
Historical coverage of the London Times newspaper. Provides citations to the text available on microfilm in McHenry Library. This resource is part of the "Historical Newspapers Online" site.
-
Covers 1790-1905, full text available for 1824-1870.
Index to articles from historical London Times newspaper published 1790-1905 (available on microfilm in McHenry Library). Full text images are available for the years 1790 to 1870. This resource is part of the 'Historical Newspapers Online' site.
-
Covers 1728-1800.
Database from Accessible Archives that contains the full text of the newspaper, 1728 - 1800. The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered newspaper of record for the 18th century.
-
1946-2005
Access to full text of People's Daily newspaper archives, in Chinese.
-
Covers: 1990 - current.
Searchable database of articles from 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Ebsco -
Covers 1785-1985.
Complete, searchable digital edition of The Times (London) from 1785-1985. Includes all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Provides facsimile images of individual articles or a complete page.
Gale -
Guide to a microfilm collection of alternative, radical, and independent newspapers and journals which give voice to groups and viewpoints not typically represented in the mass media. Most publications in the collection are from the 1960s and 1970s, with short production runs. The microfilm collection is located in McHenry Library Microforms.
-
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The site indexes individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and special news-related programming since 1989.
-
Covers: 1982-current.
Searchable database of Wall Street Journal articles from Proquest.
-
Covers 1889-1986.
Searchable database of full text Wall Street Journal articles (backfile) from Proquest. Covers July 8, 1889-Dec 31, 1986.
-
Covers: 2000-
Searchable, full-text database of non-U.S. newspapers and other media sources. Includes translated and English-language news and information. WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Material is provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), a U.S. government agency.
