Databases and Research Tools, Format = Music and Audio

  • Note: Content from African American Music is now a part of American Song. Included are songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.

    Alexander Street Press
  • Searchable database of online music recordings that will contain 50,000 tracks from America's past. Incorporates African American Music (previously a separate database). The database will include songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.

    Alexander Street Press
  • Database of classical music recordings, with digital audio selections cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.(Mac and Windows computers need Macromedia Flash Player. In addition, Windows users need Microsoft Windows Media Player.)

    Alexander Street Press
  • Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. In order to play sound files, Mac and Windows computers need Macromedia Flash Player. In addition, Windows computer users need Microsoft Windows Media Player.

    Alexander Street Press
  • Online audio database of nearly 2,300 albums from fifteen independent record labels, including New World, Albany, CRI, Deep Listening, BMOP/sound, Frog Peak, Lovely, and Mode.  Genres covered range from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond.

  • Ethnographic Video Online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.

    Alexander Street Press
  • Unified site for four online audio streaming products from Alexander Street Press: Classical Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound, American Song, and Contemporary World Music and an online score collection: Classical Scores Library.  Each of the resources can be accessed separately as well.

    Alexander Street Press
  • Online streaming music from Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo collections including Classical, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Includes liner notes and other textual information, and options to create playlists.

  • Primary-source material for the study of popular music, featuring full text of 20,000+ articles from nearly 50 years of American and British popular-music journalism, spanning popular, niche, and industry publications; includes audio section of over 300 interviews with music personalities

    1962 to present
  • Digital recordings of over 35,000 tracks of world music and sound recordings from the archives of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings. To play, Mac and Windows computers need Macromedia Flash Player. In addition, Windows users need Microsoft Windows Media Player.

    Alexander Street Press