Databases and Research Tools, Format = Images

  • Aluka is an international, collaborative initiative building an online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. 

    A wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by our partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides are organized into three collections: African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes, African Plants, and Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa.

  • (Formerly Accunet AP Photo Archive)  Primary source database from the Associated Press with photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning over 185 years. Over 12 million photographs dating back to 1826, more than 36,000 audio sound bites, more than 340,000 graphics including maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags, illustrations and more.  Images and selective newspapers articles are royalty free for educational use by UCSC faculty, staff, and students only.

    Covers: Primarily 1995-present
  • ARTstor is a digital library of over one million images from many time periods and cultures in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

  • Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.

  • CAMIO is OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online.  It includes about 95,000 art images—photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture—plus audio, video and mixed media from cultures from around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

  • Ethnographic Video Online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.

    Alexander Street Press
  • Database of images in the Museums in the Online Archive of California. Searchable using Luna Imaging's Insight software.

  • NASA database includes images from the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, the Johnson Space Center, the Ames Research Center, and more.

  • North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies. Each year we'll add more than 20,000 new records. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.

  • Over 10,000 full-text articles from key reference resources on African American and African history and culture. Includes over 2500 images, more than 450 primary sources with specially written commentaries, nearly 200 maps, and more than 150 charts and tables offering information on everything from demographics, government, and politics, to business and labor, education, and the arts.

  • The index records works of art produced from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 with particular emphasis on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, including manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, and glass. The database includes textual descriptions of all works and digitized photographs of works from the Morgan Library.

  • Consists of the papyrus documents that were found in the winter of 1899/1900 at the site of ancient Tebtunis, Egypt. Searchable using Luna Imaging's Insight software.

  • Access nineteen collections comprising over 30,100 images hosted in LUNA Insight and LUNA Commons. The collections include historical posters, maps, rare books, illustrations, fashion plates, political cartoons and more.